2017 A to Z Challenge Blog: V is for Voyage and “New to You” author, Stephen St. Clair

2017 BadgeWelcome to the twenty-second day of this years’ blog. If you are new, thanks for dropping by. If you are a regular, it’s all nice to see you again. This year’s blog has been wonderful, educational, and enlightening. For my part, I’ve sought to introduce you to writers I know through my publishers who may be new to you.

Today, I’ll continue that practice, bhut first, a little about the intrepid letter V. If you live in the northern hemisphere, especially in North America or even Western Europe, chances are you’ve see the well-known V formation on Canada geese. Many other migratory birds, including Eurasian Eurasian_Cranes_migrating_to_Meyghan_Salt_Lakegeese use this formation. Why? Scientists have concluded that this V-shaped formation serves two important purposes: First, it saves energy since each bird flies slightly above the bird in front of him, resulting in a reduction of wind resistance. In the second place. it helps the gaggle keep track of every goose in the migration.

This formation is a basic flight formation for military 330px-A_formation_of_IRIAF_F-4s_over_Bushehraircraft as well, and is often seen in airshows and at other ceremonies. The military are always looking for ways to improve on both safety and fuel efficiency.

As a former history major, when I think of V, I also think of V E-Day, celebrated May 8, which commemorates Germany’s surrender on May 8, 1945 and VJ-Day, celebrated on August 15, in the UK, September 2, in the US and September 3 in China, remembering japan’s surrender marking the end of WWII.

There are a great many other words that start with the letter V. For example, you have volunteer, visionary, vigilant, verity, and vocation, all very positive words, but you also have vindictive, virus, and virulent which are anything but.  This morning, I want you to consider the word voyage. The term Bon Voyage isn’t used as much as it used to be. You rarely tell your friends to have a lovely voyage. No, since voyage somehow implies more than a mere trip, it’s reserved for things like the name of ships, Voyager, or the exploits of famous men, both real and fictional,  such as the Voyages of Sinbad, the voyages of Magellan, and the voyages of Christopher Columbus.

This morning, let me introduce you to today’s “new to you” author.

MEGreetings fellow traveler! My name is Stephen St. Clair. Here are a few things about me and what I’ve been up to.

I currently have two books published. I have four manuscripts I’m actively working on and that’s just on the weekends! I am married to the prettiest woman I know who is also a fellow author. Together we share 5 kids, three of which live at home still. We have three dogs and three cats. When my wife and I aren’t working on a manuscript, we are out researching future manuscripts or just getting lost in the woods chasing after ghosts, dragons, or fairies!

I love reading all kinds of science fiction/fantasy books and watching the same type of movies. My favorite authors are (yes authors have favorite authors!)  Piers Anthony and Karen Traviss!

If you would like to know more about me, you can follow me on social media: blog/website, stephenstclairwrit.wixsite.com/craftedquill   Twitter as @craftedquill and Facebook- http://facebook.com/stephenstclairwriter or at his Amazon author page: https://www.amazon.com/Stephen-St.-Clair/e/B01M4QKKIW/

The book I would like to introduce you to today is Kindred Souls: Voyage of the Scotsmen

KindredCoverArtAbout the book:

History is meant to remain in the past, or so it has been said. With his love life in shambles and the contents of his entire life reduced to boxes, packed hastily and strewn about his living room floor, Aidan MacLeod needed a serious change in scenery. A mysterious crate with only a return address piques his curiosity. Opening it, he discovers two swords wrapped in fine Asian silk. He’s also shocked to learn he’s the sole heir to his great-grandfather’s estate in Oregon.

Could the sudden arrival of these two swords, the news of the bequeathed estate, and a chance meeting with a mysterious woman go hand in hand?

Kiernan MacLeod makes a fateful mistake amidst a drunken brawl and lands aboard a Dutch trading ship. He finds himself dangling from a rope, mere inches above the ocean’s surging waves. After being hauled back aboard, he’s taken before the captain and informed he must remain with the ship until they reach Dejima, Japan.

Join Aidan and Kieran on the voyage of their kindred souls, through life and the discovery of new love, as they each discover what Destiny has in store for them and where the mysteries of their ancestral paths may cross!

Interested? Find Kindred Souls, Voyage of the Scotsmen here. https://www.amazon.com/Kindred-Souls-Stephen-St-Clair-ebook/dp/B01MR7CJZM or here: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/kindred-souls-stephen-st-clair/1125515039?ean=9781625265166

Please stop by the A to Z blog’s site to visit other bloggers.  A to Z Challenge Blog

 

9 thoughts on “2017 A to Z Challenge Blog: V is for Voyage and “New to You” author, Stephen St. Clair

  1. I love watching geese in their Vs – I stop everything when I hear the first honk and plant my eyes skyward.

    And thank you for the introduction to Stephen St. Clair and his book. Sounds like quite an adventure – quite a voyage indeed.

Leave a comment