Tuesday Tales: From the Word JAR

NEW TT BADGEWelcome to this week’s Tuesday Tales, the recurring blog where a select group of authors share a scene from their current works in progress each week. Those scenes may be based on a word or picture prompt. This week, you 400 word scenes are based on the word JAR. This will also be my last post from The Blue Dragon. I hope you’ve enjoyed these snippets.

“That has to be it,” she whispered. “It looks like it could be a hope chest. Is it locked?”

“No.”Phil undid the brass buckles and lifted the top. The box was cedar lined. “Come have a look,” he said, convinced they’d found the dress.

Sam walked over. Whatever was in the chest was wrapped in tissue paper. Kneeling, she carefully unwrapped the top layers, revealing the most exquisite ivory satin wedding gown she’d ever seen. She stood and lifted it out of the chest.

“It’s gorgeous,” she breathed the words as the satin slithered to the floor. “Here, hold it,” she ordered, handing it to him and turning back to the chest. Under the dress was its slip, a long veil that appeared to be years older than the dress, a tiara with tiny blue stones that could well have been fit for a queen, satin slippers, and a small glass jar containing not only the blue dragon brooch, but matching sapphire earrings.

He watched as tears trickled down Sam’s cheeks, not immune to the emotions filling him.

Esther's wedding dress“She would’ve made a beautiful bride,” Sam choked out the words. She looked up at him, her face a mixture of wonder and sorrow. “Something old, the veil, something new, the dress, something blue, the tiara,  brooch, and  earrings. The only thing missing is her something borrowed.” She swiped at her eyes. “I don’t know why I’m crying. I should be happy that we’ve found it, but all I can think of is what a lovely bride she would’ve been, and what a shame she never got the chance to wear the dress. Look here.” She indicated the neckline. “It was handmade. By her or her mother, we’ll never know. “I’m going to keep the dressmaker’s dummy we found and display the dress on it. We’ll put it in the living room near the fireplace and their engagement photo. Such an exquisite gown needs to be displayed for everyone to admire.”

Phil nodded, but as far as he was concerned, the dress needed to be worn, and he knew exactly who should wear it.

“Let me carry this downstairs. We’ll have it pressed before we display it, but I think your idea’s a great one.”

For now, but he had plans of his own in the works. He just needed the perfect time and place to spring them–and she had to agree.

That’s it. I truly hope you enjoyed the story. Writing it was a cathartic experience for me as I went through my mother’s house now that it had to be sold. With my Dad’s death last fall, she is no longer able to cope. While that isn’t my mother’s dress, she was married in the dead of winter in white velvet, it’s definitely something Esther would’ve worn. A mind is a fragile thing and sorrow can do a great deal of harm. Stay home. Stay safe. Life is far too precious to waste.

Don’t forget to check out the other Tuesday Tales.

7 thoughts on “Tuesday Tales: From the Word JAR

  1. What a heartbreaking time for her. I have that problem still–going through things. It’s hard alone because emotions take over so easily and hard with family there as well. There’s no good way. The dress sounds beautiful, and I’m glad he has a good idea for it. Best thoughts to you.

    • My sister and I have had to do this as we’ve sold my mother’s house. much of what I felt and what we found has gone into The Blue Dragon. The house is empty now and closes in a couple of weeks. Mom has periods of lucidity, but they are few and getting fewer. COVID 19 has made everything more difficult, too. Praying her long term care home remains virus free.

  2. Wow! And now you’re leaving us wondering. I have some ideas. Guess I’ll just have to read the book when it comes out. This is a heartfelt, sentimental post that gave me goosebumps. Well done.

  3. I love it. The dress and all the accoutrements sound lovely. So sad it didn’t get worn, but I have a feeling it will be… 🙂 I’ve enjoyed these peeks into the book! Jillian

  4. Such beautiful descriptions of the dress and accessories. And I really hope he gets the chance to ask his question soon. Great job!

Leave a comment