Tuesday Tales: From the Word PROMPT

Hello. Yesterday was Election Day in Canada, and Trudeau and the Liberals will form a Minority government which will have to play nice with others to get things done. The fun part is, no matter who won or how things will now be, Canadians will suck it up, continue to be friends with one another–regardless of which way we voted, and settle into seeing how the new government can survive four years or send us back to try again early.  That’s what democracy and majority rule means to us. I win, you lose, let’s move on!

New TT imageWelcome to another week of Tuesday Tales.  Life is slowly returning to normal, and while I will always miss my father, I’m coping with it, working on the stories I know he would’ve loved.  This week we have a word prompt again, and that word is prompt. How’s that for appropriate? Oh, and for those who wondered, Izzy will be dressed something like this.

I continue with The Price of Courage. Enjoy.

tumblr_mxg6qao7ad1rnav7ro1_400Guy chuckled. “And they don’t have to. Besides, you could never grow the beard. Most of the time, we’ll be among friends where you’ll be free to be yourself and can wear the simple gowns you’ve packed for Quebec. On the road, the more you remain in character, the better. If we encounter trouble, Luc intends to pass you off as my half-Huron woman.”

“I don’t speak Huron. Surely you don’t expect me to stay silent.” She straightened her back, feeling the spots of anger burn her cheeks.

He shook his head. “If you’re questioned, I’ll feed you your answers or prompt you to speak, but you’ll have to temper your tongue, wife. Not all men are as patient and understanding as I am.”

Izzy, now far too warm dressed as she was, stamped her foot. “I will have my say. I’ll not be any man’s doormat.”

Guy pulled her into his arms.

“I could no longer keep you from speaking your mind than I could hold back the mighty Saint Lawrence River in springtime. I’m asking you to exercise caution. Many of the Huron have learned French from the missionaries, and if we do meet up with a band of trappers, they’ll accept you as my woman. Many of them have taken native wives. You’ll be armed with your musket and knife. While I should be with you, don’t hesitate to use them if you have to.” He released her. “Maman and Sophie have prepared a special feast for tonight. We don’t want to keep them waiting.”

Izzy nodded. “You’re sure they’ll be safe here?”

Guy smiled. “They will be, my little enchantress. Four of my most trusted men have arrived and three will stay inside the inn. The other comes with us instead of Henri. It was the only way to ensure Maman wouldn’t take in guests while we are gone. Three of my engagés from the estate have moved into the loft with Marcel, Jean, and Bernard. Unlike the men I’ve stationed at the barracks, they will remain here to protect the house. We’ll be gone six to eight weeks. By the time we return, things should’ve settled enough to send them back to the seigneurie to start tapping the maple trees, but for now, they will protect my family and the colony.”

She smiled. “Then, let me get out of these trappings for now and become your lady for one more night.”

That’s it. See you next week. Don’t forget to check out all the other posts on  Tuesday Tales

4 thoughts on “Tuesday Tales: From the Word PROMPT

  1. Love this part: …but you’ll have to temper your tongue, wife. Not all men are as patient and understanding as I am.” and then her response! LOL!

    And the last line is ooh la la! Jillian

Leave a comment