Tuesday Tales: From a Picture

New TT image

Mother Nature and Old Man Winter haven’t come to a compromise yet, so my little corner of the world has unsettled weather. I hope things are better wherever you are.

Welcome to this week’s Tuesday Tales, scenes created in current works in progress by a select group of writers. It always astounds me to think they consider me one of them. This week, we have a picture prompt, and a 300 word limit.

I continue with my historical romance suspense, The Price of Courage, The Canadiana Series, Book Two.  It’s still winter in seventeenth century New France, but since I’m longing for spring, I got creative with the prompt.

Here it is:

dandelions

Enjoy!

Guy, his jacket tossed carelessly across the back of his chair, paced his small office, sipping the dandelion wine Maman had served with lunch, claiming it, like the tea she made from the dried leaves and powdered root, had calming properties. While the beverage would never compete with French wines, it was an acceptable drink for such a cold, gray day, bringing back memories of spring and sunshine, the golden flowers dotting the green fields with the promise of hot sunny days to come.

He turned at the sound of someone knocking.

“Come in,” he called, expecting his mother or step-father since both Izzy and Sophie had gone up to rest after the morning’s emotional events.

The door opened, but instead of Henri, Lieutenant Leclerc’s former secretary entered the room, pulling off his slouch cap as he did.

“Cadet Lallier reporting as ordered, sir, ” he said, his hat trembling as it hung from his quaking hand. The young cadet’s voice cracked on the last word.

“Thank you for coming so quickly,” Guy said. “Please give my condolences to your family. Losing a beloved this way is never easy.”

“Thank you, my lord. My aunt and uncle are devastated.”

The seventeen-year-old’s eyes were red rimmed. He’d idolized his older cousin, and the lieutenant had been proud of the young man who’d recently decided to join the colony’s militia.

“Here,” Guy said, pouring a measure of the golden wine into a second goblet.

The young man reached for it, but made no move to drink.

“It’s dandelion wine. It won’t hurt you,” Guy assured him. “I understand it was Lieutenant Leclerc’s favorite beverage. I believe he provided this very bottle.”

The boy smiled sadly. “It was.” He sipped and straightened his shoulders. “You didn’t call me here to discuss wine, did you, sir?”

That’s it. Don’t forget to check out all the other posts on  Tuesday Tales

4 thoughts on “Tuesday Tales: From a Picture

  1. Hmm, do I detect a bit of a cliffhanger here?? Love the realistic conversation going back and forth between the man and boy. Gives a flavor of the times and how people were back then. Well done!

  2. My heart aches for the poor cadet for losing someone he loved. But I have a feeling he knows something that Guy needs to know. Great job!

Leave a comment