Tuesday Tales: Picture Prompt Week

Badge for TT - very smallGood morning. I don’t know about where you are, but around here, it’s beginning to look at lot like Christmas. Are you holi-ready as the Home Hardware commercial asks? Sad to say, I’m not.

Despite the season, I’m continuing with Same Time Next Year. If possible, I would like to have it finished and released for Valentine’s Day, but that goal may not be a realistic one.

 

Here is the image I chose for today’s post.

laneway

And here is this week’s scene. Remember, when using picture prompts, we are limited to 300 words! Enjoy!

As soon as Father realized what she’d done, they started arguing again, albeit in whispers lest anyone hear them. Such hypocrisy! I did the best thing I could do—I escaped.

Walking through the trees, I found a lane that led down to a deck by the water. It was beautiful here, with the scent of clean fresh air instead of the gas fumes of the city. It appealed to my artistic side. I found a rock and sat on it, opening my journal. I was in my poetry phase, as Mother called it. Grabbing my pencil, I created my first, but not my last Haiku of the summer. I have them still. They were in the box of souvenirs I found in the attic not too long ago.

Sunlight streams between branches

Creating shadows

Mother Nature at her best

It wasn’t by any means a work of art, but I liked it. Closing my journal, I walked back through the trees, dancing my way along the path, trying not to step on the shadows as if they were cracks in the sidewalk. When I stepped out onto the lawn, I headed toward the lock.

Today was July 1, 1967. One hundred years ago, Canada had become a country in its own right. I’d wanted to stay home for the Fourth of July celebrations, but Mother insisted we be here on July first. I never did find out why.

People were all gathered near the lock. That’s where I headed. When I got close enough to see what was going on, I swear the Earth shifted in its orbit. He looked straight at me, his eyes widening as an involuntary smile split his face, quickly hidden again. But I’d seen the interest in his blue eyes, and my stomach flip-flopped.

That’s it for this week! Don’t forget to check out all the other posts on  Tuesday Tales.

7 thoughts on “Tuesday Tales: Picture Prompt Week

Leave a comment