Day 1 A to Z Challenge A is for April

2017 BadgeHello and welcome to the 2017 version of the A to Z Challenge. I’ve participated for the last three years and while they’ve mixed it up this year, I hope to reach as many new and returning bloggers as I did in the past. Without the linky list, it may be a touch more complicated, but since I can imagine how much work setting it all up was, I will do my best to figure this out.

Today is Day 1 and that day begins with the letter A as in A is for April.

AApril 1 has always been a day for pranks. The reason why varies, but here are a few of the most popular ones, taken from  http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/april-fools-tradition-popularized

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Day 1 A to Z Challenge A is for April

  1. Alex Daw says:

    Thanks for this. I had no idea about the origins of April Fool’s Day. The whole idea of pinning a tail or fish on someone is interesting isn’t it?

  2. trishafaye says:

    I didn’t know that the origins of this prankster holiday went back so far. And I love that ‘Left Handed Whopper’ story. Great kick off to A to Z, Susanne!

  3. Megan Morgan says:

    I’ve always wondered how April Fools got started! I think it’s a fun day and I don’t trust anything that anyone says today!

  4. Shari Elder says:

    Happy April Fools Day to you. Its funny thought the biggest pranks may happen other days (because we can’t write them off as April Fools). I’m thinking Orson Wells, War of the Worlds for Example, which was for Halloween.

    • Definitely one of the biggest pranks of all times. My daughter mixed KD cheese and water and told the kids it was OJ. They weren’t impressed. When she’s older, they are going to get her good!

  5. aidylewoh says:

    Wow! I didn’t know about those “big time” pranks. I can’t even imagine the one about harvesting spaghetti! That would be crazy. My family never really did much for April Fools – something for which I’m rather thankful. I don’t like practical jokes all that much… =)
    You can find my “A” post here: https://lydiahowe.com/2017/04/01/a-is-for-acting-atozchallenge-2017/

  6. Burger King ran an ad this year for Whopper flavored toothpaste!

  7. unibookworm says:

    Always wondered the origins of April Fools Day 😉 nice post!

  8. Barbed Words says:

    Haha – great minds think alike 😉

Leave a Reply

