Tuesday Tales: From the Word Servant

NEW TT BADGEWelcome to another edition of Tuesday Tales. This week, the prompt word on which we base our scenes is SERVANT. I’m giving you another taste of Buck’s Fizz. Enjoy.

“Are you out of your ever-loving mind?” Elise hissed. “That’s not one of the songs we cover. We don’t have the range.”

“But I do,” I said. “Casey could’ve too, and since I’m standing in for Casey … Will you trust me with this, or do you want to sit with your thumb up your ass for the next three weeks?”

Becky shook her head. “Go ahead. We’ve got nothing to lose. If we don’t do it, he’ll send us packing and I, for one, want this gig.”

“Then come in on the chorus. I’ll do the rest.” I ran my hands over the keys and inhaled deeply and began to sing. “Now, I’ve heard there was a secret chord that David played, and it pleased the Lord…”

As always, Leonard Cohen’s words filled me. I closed my eyes and played the song I knew so well, pouring every ounce of my soul into the music. When the song was over, I opened my eyes, there was a new respect on the faces of the Silvertones.

“You’ve got quite the voice,” Lance said, his tone just slightly less bitter than when he’d spoken of his ex-wife. “My cousin gave my grandmother a CD she’d recorded with girls from college. She played it up until the day she died. You’ve got the gig, but I don’t think you can bunk in with the hands as I’d planned. You’ll have to stay in the big house.”

“So you’ll honor the contract?” Becky asked,  not ready to look a gift horse in the mouth.

“I will, but if after tonight’s show the audience doesn’t approve, you’re out of here. In the meantime, Lila, looks after my daughter. There aren’t any servants here.” He glared at me. “You’ll just have to fend for yourselves.”

I swallowed. Damn it! It was impossible, but it was true. This was Sable’s cousin, the one I’d wanted badly that last night on the beach—the one I’d given a fake number to. Now, if he ever realized who I was, we would definitely be out of a job.

Hallelujah is one of my favorite songs. Take a minute and listen for yourself.

 

Don’t forget to check out the other Tuesday Tales.

4 thoughts on “Tuesday Tales: From the Word Servant

  1. Happy she got the gig, but now i need to know what happened on that beach and why she gave him a phony number? Great suspense building here. And piquing my curiosity! Plus that wonderful song. I love it, too.

  2. Wonderful scene– I held my breath until she got it. It gave a feeling of satisfaction to see her talent and skill coming through. And what’s this with her once being attracted to him and providing a fake number? Can’t wait to find out more of the story. Love the series concept.

  3. I love that song! I have two versions (Jeff Buckley and Theory of a Deadman) on one of my Spotify playlists. I am dying to know what happened between them on the beach and why she thinks they will be fired. Great job!

Leave a comment