Tuesday Tales: From the Word PERSUADE

New TT imageOnly a week left until Christmas Eve! Welcome to this week’s edition of Tuesday Tales. If you are new to this weekly blog post, let me assure you that we have something for everyone. Once a week, a select group of authors share a scene from a work in progress with you the readers. Once a month, we have a picture prompt and a 300 word post. The other weeks, we offer you a 400 word scene written to incorporate a word prompt. This week’s word is PERSUADE. I’m continuing with The Price of Courage, Book 2 in my Canadiana Series.

Enjoy!

“But you have capable men here on your estate who could protect your family,” Guy argued.

“Capable men?” Richard asked, scratching his chin. “That’s an interesting turn of phrase. Unlike you, only a handful of my tenants were from the soldiers who remained in the colony. Most of my centimes are occupied by new settlers from France who seek a better life. Some came with families of their own. I have no doubt they are good, honorable, God-fearing men. Others have yet to marry. I sent six men to Ville-Marie as you requested and persuaded the remaining bachelors to trap for the estate. As compensation, all men on the estate, including the ones in Ville-Marie and those who remain here, will share in the profits just as they do on the profits from their farming and lumbering. I saw it as the best solution until the enemy is uncovered.”

“And it’s an excellent one. Your fears are mine, and those of every man in the colony with a family. There was a time when the enemy was easy to identify, but now, he wears the familiar face of those we expected to be our allies. Greed supported and encouraged by lies is at the root of our troubles. Have you heard any talk among your people of government sanctioned exploration to the west?”

“You mean beyond the borders currently recognized for trapping?” Richard asked, his brow deeply furrowed.

“Yes. There is a rumor circulating, encouraging trappers to join an illegal expedition in the spring.”

Richard shook his head. “This is the first I hear of it, but I’ll warn my men as soon as they return. In the meantime, have you made any progress on the Leclerc murder?”

“Sadly, we have, but not the kind of progress I’d hoped. My best suspect turned up dead himself, and that’s left me with no suspects at all. But I’ve increased the militia and thanks to you and others who’ve sent men, I’m certain the colony is secure.”

“That’s good, but what about our estates? I will need all my men back once the winter’s over.”

“By then, I’ll have discovered the traitor  in the colony and Talon will have caught the bastard in France and put an end to his machinations.”

“From your mouth to God’s ear,” Richard said, making the sign of the cross to seal his prayer.

Thanks for visiting. Don’t forget to check out the other Tuesday Tales.

4 thoughts on “Tuesday Tales: From the Word PERSUADE

Leave a comment