Tuesday Tales From the Word Colorful

New TT image

Welcome to this week’s edition of Tuesday Tales. It’s hard to believe the last week of May has arrived. Does it feel like spring yet? That’s the thing about climate change. It brings with it all manner of extreme weather. I may not relish the frigid cold of winter, nor the yucky cool days and rain we’ve had to date, but then I’m blessed with living in  an area that seems to be avoiding the worst of the super storms and droughts we’ve seen these past few years.

I’m continuing with Murielle’s current situation. I hope you’re enjoying this character loosely based on my own Aunt Murielle. We continue with The Price of Courage, The Canadiana Series, Book Two. This week’s word prompt is COLORFUL.

Enjoy!

The children clamored down the steps, sitting on the long benches on each side of the table, Marie helping the youngest, Melda, into the highchair placed next to the bench. Her nephew, Gerard, sat at the head of the table, while Beatrice dropped into the chair at the foot.

Merci, ma tante,” Beatrice said, reaching for nine-year-old Martin’s hand on her left and seven-year-old Marc’s hand on her right. “It was God himself who sent you to me. I don’t know how I would’ve managed without you. This little one is taking more out of me than all five of the others combined, including the twins.”

Murielle smiled. “It’s not a bother.” She envied her niece, never having borne a child herself. “Whom did you say Uncle Nicholas was entertaining tonight?”

“I’m not sure, but I think it’s someone from New France. The ship from the colony made port in Marseilles on Sunday. Clotilde Leterrier was there for a wedding. According to her, there was someone important aboard, but that’s all I know.” She laughed softly. “She did mention that some of the gentlemen were garbed in colorful silks with enormous ostrich-plumed hats. Mon oncle forgot to mention to the mayor that he’d exchanged houses with me. The guests’ carriage showed up here earlier while you were hanging out the laundry, but Gerard sent them down to the lane to the dowager house. Will you come back here after dinner or spend the night there?”

Murielle forced a smile, wishing she were indeed coming back tonight. Entertaining men who’d been at sea for seven or eight weeks might not be a pleasant task, and if they were dandies hoping for a tussle in the hay, they were about to be disappointed.

“Uncle Nicholas asked me to stay for the three days his guests will be there. There will be several meals to attend to. Cosette, his cook and housekeeper, seems to have that side of things under control, but she isn’t Ma tante Marigot. She needs direction. I’ll send Espé here during my absence. She’s not much older than the twins, but with your guidance, she should be helpful. I’ll get the food.”

Murielle left the family to say grace and returned to the kitchen for the tray of bowls, a crock of butter, and a loaf of fresh bread.

That’s it. Don’t forget to check out all the other posts on  Tuesday Tales

5 thoughts on “Tuesday Tales From the Word Colorful

  1. Ooh. The plot thickens. Can’t wait to find out what happens with these new guests, fresh off the boat. I’m hoping Murielle is safe. I have a feeling she can take care of herself. Engrossing story.

  2. I am intrigued to see what happens with these new guests from New France. I have a feeling something is brewing. Excited to read more!

Leave a comment