Tuesday Tales: From the Word CHEST

New TT imageWelcome to this week’s edition of  Tuesday tales, the blog that lets you watch as novels are created, scene by scene. I hope you had a wonderful Easter.  This week’s prompt is CHEST, and the scene is 400 words long.

I’m continuing from where I left off last week.  This is from The Price of Courage, my historical romance suspense novel, that is the second book in my Canadiana series.

Enjoy!

Guy finished the wine in his goblet and set the glass on his desk.

“No, I didn’t. I realize this may not be the best time, but I have questions that must be answered. As Roger’s secretary, I assume you were privy to everything.”

The cadet licked his lips. “It was my responsibility, my lord.”

Guy read the fear in the boy’s eyes and saw the way the goblet trembled in his hand.

“What’s your first name, cadet?” he asked, hoping to set the boy at ease.

“Francis, sir.”

“That’s an English name, is it not?”

The boy nodded. “My mother’s grandmother came to France from England. It was her father’s name, and it was passed on to me.”

“It’s a good strong name. Please, sit by the fire where we can talk more comfortably, and I’ll feel like less of a giant towering over you.”

The boy, small for his age with a slight stature, nodded and took the chair Guy offered, while he reached for the wine and refilled both goblets.

The cadet’s breathing was rapid. Guy could see the way his tight-fitting jacket rose and fell against the boy’s chest. The young man was terrified, the look on his face that of a trapped animal. Why? What did he know that could get him into trouble?

“Why was the lieutenant working alone last night?” Guy asked, watching as what little color in the boy’s face slipped away.

Eyes wide, the man-child stared at him but didn’t speak.

“I asked you a question, Francis. I’m your commander. Nothing you tell me will go beyond this room, but Roger’s murder makes no sense.”

“He wasn’t supposed to be alone,” the boy whispered. “Sergeant Raymond and one of the coureur de bois were supposed to be there. I wanted to stay, but Roger sent me home. Items were missing from the inventory.” Now that he’d begun talking, the words tumbled out faster and faster. “Roger was examining the inventory records when he found the discrepancies. Money, pelts, beaded goods, and weapons were missing. He asked the sergeant about it and he said you’d ordered the items given to the scout before he left last month. They were going to go over the list together.”

Guy swallowed his surprise. Did everyone know of Lucien’s mission?

“Where is Sergeant Raymond now?” Guy asked, holding onto to his anger by a thread.

“He’s vanished.”

That’s it. Don’t forget to check out all the other posts on  Tuesday Tales

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Tales: From the Word CHEST

  1. Uh oh! That’s not a good thing at all. I’m afraid for Lucien now. Great job of creating suspense. I’m on the edge of my seat!

Leave a comment