Tuesday Tales: It’s Picture Time!

badge-for-tt-very-small-1Good morning and welcome to this week’s edition of Tuesday Tales, the weekly blog highlighting work in progress made possible by the lovely and talented Jean Joachim. Most of the time, our posts are based on a word, but once a month, we are given a selection of images and have to chose one. That week, we have to keep our post to 300 words as well.

For many of you, the last few weeks have been fraught with bad news and possibly living close to one of Mother Nature’s current disasters. My prayers are that you are all well.

This week is picture week, and I’m continuing with Same Time Next Year, my contemporary novel with a blast from the past in it.

banana split

Here’s the image I chose.  I can hear you saying, how does that fit when I left you hanging two weeks ago. Well, here’s the answer. Enjoy!

“You’re the last person I expected to see here,” Mavis said, sitting. “What’s it been? Thirty, forty years?”

“More like fifty,” Twyla answered. Did her smile appear genuine? “You’re looking well.”

Mavis’s lip rose in a sneer. “As are you, but why keep that red hair?” She smiled at Lana. “Yours is a delightful shade of strawberry blond, while hers used to look like overcooked carrots.”

Lana nodded, but Twyla noted the bright red spots on her cheeks.

“Grams hair is legendary. Few people realize she’s never had to color it. It’s lightened over the years, and I’m hoping the same will hold true for me. I’m sure you know how much time and money coloring your hair takes.”

Mavis glowered.

Twyla smothered a giggle. Once a bitch always a bitch.

“How rude of me,” she said. “Mavis Crowder, meet my granddaughter, Lana Markham. Lana starts at Princeton in September.”

“Congratulations, young lady. That’s quite an accomplishment,” Mavis said, but her tone implied the opposite.

Lana nodded. “Thank you. How did you two meet?”

“Mavis worked here. She dumped a banana split on me,” Twyla answered. “Weren’t you going into hotel management or something?”

“At one time, yes.” Her cheeks were redder. “I suppose marrying a millionaire, like you did—we saw the newspaper clipping—you didn’t have to work.”

“Grams is a bestselling author,” Lana said, jumping to her defense. “She’s written more than seventy novels.”

Mavis frowned. “Really? I don’t think I’ve come across anything written by a Twyla.”

Twyla chuckled. “William encouraged my career, but I chose not to disrupt our lives. Instead, I use Dawn Williams as my pen name.”

Mavis’s mouth gaped open. “I love those books.”

“Then, thank you for your support. Always nice to meet a fan.”

That’s it for this week! Don’t forget to check out all the other posts on  Tuesday Tales.

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tuesday Tales: It’s Picture Time!

  1. jeanjoachim says:

    I love this scene! Great exchange between two older women who were not friends in their youth. And then the kicker at the end. Brilliant. Maybe that will help them build a bridge. Love this story.

  2. trishafaye says:

    I love the turn about when she gets her comeuppance!

  3. Tricia says:

    Oh, wow! I love the ending! That was an awesome interaction between the three of them. Great job!

Leave a Reply

