Tuesday Tales: More From Same Time Next Year

badge-for-tt-very-small-1Good morning and welcome to this week’s Tuesday Tales. It’;s been a crazy week for me. I had my first television interview as a writer–a five-minute spot on local cable TV, but I’m hoping it will generate sales. and lead to other things. Today, I bring you a tease for my new manuscript, a contemporary paranormal. I used this image and the word BIKE since I wasn’t sure how the group had left it. I may have contributed more than my share to that little mix-up. pond

Here’s your tease.

Rather than answer her granddaughter, Twyla looked out the window. How many times had she ridden her bike along this road and others leading to the cottages on Indian Lake? There had been a special place she’d loved, a small pond hidden in the trees, where she’d often gone to read, lying on the rocks above it, enjoying the peace and quiet. That was where he’d first kissed her.

“Grams?”

“I’m sorry. I was just admiring the scenery. The last summer I was here, I met a young man whose family owned one of the nearby cottages. He had just finished his last year at the Royal Military College in Kingston and was working as a canal guard. We knew our time was short. I had to return to New Jersey and he had to put in his five years in the Canadian army, but we promised to stay in touch, and if possible, to come back at the same time the following year, and to keep doing so until we met again.”

“Were you in love?” The creases on her granddaughter’s brow were deep while her eyes shone with unshed tears.

“We thought so, but our relationship was doomed from the start. He was poor Irish Catholic and Father hated papists as he called them. We thought we had lots of time to find a way around that, but then suddenly I was a married to another.”

Twyla looked away, unable to stop the one lone tear from crawling down her cheek.

“That’s so sad, but you wrote to him, right? You explained what happened?”

“I tried, but he never answered my letters. I need to see him again, make him understand.” She jutted out her chin. Nothing would stop her from finding Michael.

That’s it for this week! Don’t forget to check out all the other posts on  Tuesday Tales.

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tuesday Tales: More From Same Time Next Year

  1. trishafaye says:

    I love how you used both prompts. But now, next week you need to use bike again. Great memories here. I felt like I was eavesdropping on the two of them and seeing her take a step back in time. I can’t wait to read more.

  2. jeanjoachim says:

    Oh, I love this! Finding her lost love. This is going to be a great journey.

    • Thanks, Jean. I’m hoping the owner of the real resort will let me set the story there. We will be staying there in September. The resort has been there for more than a hundred years. Perfect location for the ghost of a lost love, right?

Leave a Reply

