The Insecure Writer’s Support Group Blog for July 5, 2017: Lesson Learned?

Insecure Writers Support Group BadgeWelcome to this month’s post on the Insecure Writer’s Support Group Blog. I’m not actually here. I’m camping and as I set up this post, I’m also praying for that Mother Nature cooperates and that summer weather finally arrives– and by that I mean hot sunny days and warm romantic nights, minus rain, wind, and thunderstorms! Is it really too much to ask? I will check out the other blogs from today and comment when I get home.

This  month’s Optional Question: What is one valuable lesson you’ve learned since you started writing?

white-trilogy-comingAs I sit here staring at the blank page, I realize that, for me, the answer is simple. I’ve learned to believe in myself and my process. My Harvester Series published last year and the other nineteen novels published to date are perfect examples of that. If I didn’t have faith in what I was doing, nothing would’ve been written.

I’m a rule breaker. My writing style defies the rules preached by almost all writers, rules I preached myself as an English teacher, and yet it works for me. We are not all cookie cutter copies of the perfect writer. It takes time to hone our skills, perfect our art, but we work at it. When I first started writing, I tried to follow all of the writing guidelines from established writers  like Stephen King and James Patterson, but everything I tried to do fell flat.

For decades I had taught the writing process but it didn’t work for me: Brainstorm, Outline, Rough Draft, Edit, Edit, edit, Final Draft. I tried to develop a plot outline, write character sketches, create a synopsis for the story i planned, do a Goals and Motivation sheet for my main characters, but it was all a bust. Then, i did what I’m not supposed to do. I wrote a sentence. I reread it and edited it into a paragraph, and edited that paragraph into another until I had a chapter. And that worked!

I’m a pantser, but what I’d call a bricklaying one. I write in layers. One sentence evolves into two, three, a thousand or more. When I finish one chapter, I go through it again. As the story grows, I let the characters tell me where it’s going. Every so often, I stop moving ahead and go back to the beginning making sure everything, every clue, every character is still on the same page. When I finish the story, I go back once more and check that everything is as it should be. Yes, I edit as I go and then edit again and again. Have I ever lost words? Of course. Whole chapters, especially at the beginning which my editor pointed out to me, that as much as I liked them, they didn’t advance the plot.

Have I tried writing without editing? Yes, but I simply can’t do it. I need to see the story as I go along. I can’t just write and then keep going. Is it a flaw? Maybe, but despite all evidence and advice to the contrary, it works for me.  The one thing I learned was to believe in myself and my process.

Please check out some of this month’s other posts. If you are also an author, why not sign up and participate?

http://www.insecurewriterssupportgroup.com/p/iwsg-sign-up.html

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Insecure Writer’s Support Group Blog for July 5, 2017: Lesson Learned?

  1. Pat Hatt says:

    Believing is the way. I sometimes edit as I go. I figure that way I won’t forget to fix it, meh, still gets done haha

  2. Juneta says:

    Don’t know if it’s a flaw but definitely a common struggle. I can’t quite help it either, lol, except when doing time writings and not always then either.
    Juneta @ Writer’s Gambit

  3. You have to write in your own style or it just falls apart. I have to plan to death or it just doesn’t work.
    Plus I’m neither perfect nor cookie cut.

  4. Yes, believe in what you can achieve if you stick at it for long enough!

Leave a Reply

