Midweek Tease: Another Scene from Sworn to Protect

 

New midweek tease imageWelcome to this week’s Midweek Tease and the last one I’ll be participating in until the end of July when I return from my camping vacation. I thought I’d finish off with one last excerpt from Sworn to Protect. Many thanks to all of you who visit each week and to Angelica Dawson who maked this blog hop possible.

Here is this week’s scene:

Sworn to Protect“Marshal Copeland?” The nurse’s voice startled him, and he realized he’d dozed off. It was after midnight.

“I’m Doris. I’ll take you to your wife now.”

Neil followed the nurse to the elevator. The ICU floor was abuzz with hospital staff. Two heavily armed men in Kevlar stood just outside the elevator and stopped them.

“Identification,” demanded the gorilla who stood a good two inches taller than he did. The nurse showed him her ID card, and he nodded.

Neil pulled out his badge. “My wife is Nancy Frost.”

“She’s in ICU 7,” Doris added.

The police officer looked at Neil’s credentials. “Inspector, are you armed?”

Neil opened his jacket to reveal his .22 Glock. He raised his pant leg to display the Ruger LC9 on his ankle. “I was on a case when I got called. Do you need me to surrender them?”

“No, sir. Just glad to know we have back-up if anything happens.”

Neil nodded. “I hope it won’t come to that.”

“So do I. Let’s hope they figure out who’s to blame for this sooner rather than later. No one’s safe until these people are caught.”

“If you’ll follow me, inspector, your wife is down here.” The nurse used her card to open the glass doors that separated ICU from the rest of the floor.

Neil trailed her down the hallway.

She stopped and pointed to the door. “She’s in there. You’ll find a recliner under the window, and I gave you a pillow and a blanket. It’ll be noisy with all the machines, but I hope you can get some rest. You look worse than some of the patients.”

She turned and walked back to the nursing station.

Neil swallowed his fear and pushed open the door.

The sound of the respirator and Nancy’s heart beat thundered in his ears. He looked at the forest of poles and wires surrounding her. Her head was swathed in bandages, and what little of her face could be seen beyond the respirator mask was almost as white as the sheets on which she lay. He saw the recliner but ignored it. Instead, he walked over to the bed, pulled up the hard chair closest to him, flipped it around, and straddled it. He leaned his chin against the back of the chair and reached out his hand to touch hers. Her fingers were cold, deathly cold, and he shivered. She looked so frail. Tears ran down his cheeks.

“I’m here, Nancy. I don’t know who did this to you, but I swear when I find out, I’ll make them pay dearly.”

He laid his head on his arms and cried. The last time he’d wept like this had been four years ago. What else was a man supposed to do when his heart was shattered?

Need more?

Before I go, I would like to give you a peek at my new release coming July 31st, now available for pre-order.

Psychological chills and thrills are woven around a heartwarming love story in this action-packed romantic suspense novel.

Escaping from her abusive fiancé, Alexa O’Brien pulls into a gas station only to walk in on an execution. She’s in protective custody until she can identify Nicoli Zabat, Montreal’s mob boss, at his trial. But her safe house has been compromised, setting in motion a dangerous cat-and-mouse game.

Lieutenant Mike Delorme on the Sûreté Du Québec has spent the last eighteen months undercover in narcotics to take down Zabat, the man he blames for the death of his wife and unborn child. He doesn’t have the interest or patience to babysit a woman whose memory isn’t clear—but he’ll carry out his assignment to show the brass he’s a team player.

As Mike and Alexa dodge danger, it appears she’s in deeper than merely being in the wrong place at the wrong time. When the mafia hit she witnessed is revealed to be just the tip of an international terrorist’s plot, they must rely on each other to survive—but only if they can learn to trust their instincts and let love map out their next move.

Please check out the rest of this week’s teasers. 

#MidWeekTease June 28, 2017


About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Midweek Tease: Another Scene from Sworn to Protect

  1. dorisoconnor says:

    So much emotion in this tease. Fabulous 🙂

  2. Author Jessica E. Subject says:

    She may not be in the greatest condition, but she’s still alive which is better than some of the other victims. Such raw emotion in this scene. Well done! Enjoy your camping vacation!

  3. trishafaye says:

    Looks like you have another winner on the way, Susanne!
    Love the cover!

  4. Ed Hoornaert says:

    Realistic descriptions and action that rouse real emotions. Nice!

  5. I’m loving the teasers from this story 🙂

  6. Lea Bronsen says:

    I love your teaser. So emotional and real. Well done!

  7. Such an emotional tease.

Leave a Reply

