Tuesday Tales: Picture Prompt Time

badge-for-tt-very-small-1Welcome to this week’s edition of Tuesday Tales. Usually we post an excerpt based on a word. This week, we have a picture and a 300 word limit. I was going to start something new, but I’ll post a couple more from Wedding Bell Blues and begin a new book after my camping holiday in July. It’s a good time to start something fresh!

So, here is the image I chose:

booze

And here’s this week’s Tuesday Tale.

Paul led MJ into the bar, remodeled to resemble the interior of an old ship. A rough wooden plank replaced the smooth granite top.

“I heard about your miracle,” Lucette said, her eyes aglow, placing a glass of scotch on the bar for Paul. The bottle slipped from her hand, and lay on its side, drops of liquor saturating the wood.

Excusez-moi,” the bartender added, handing MJ a glass of juice. “I have never met anyone who has seen la sirène.”

MJ’s fingers traced the uneven grain of the dark wood. She frowned. “What’s a sirène?” She mangled the word in her attempt to say it.

“A mermaid, like Manman Dlo. I can’t wait to hear about her. Only a handful of people have seen one, and most of them are dead now. My grandfather’s father was rescued by a blue one. Those who see them are blessed.”

MJ licked her lips. “Not sure I feel blessed, more like scared to death now, but the creature I saw didn’t look like the statue. She had dark hair down to her waist, and these incredible purple scales and a marvelous tail—all shiny and reflective. She didn’t speak, just held up her hand and when I touched it, I was suddenly in the water, breathing under it. I saw Paul swimming to me and she left. When she did, I couldn’t breathe and my mouth filled with water …”

“I saw a purple shadow under you,” he admitted, his forehead creased more deeply than ever. “When it vanished, and the water entered your mouth … I never want to see anything like that again.”

MJ’s cheeks heated at the intensity of his gaze.

Before she could comment, Lucette spoke. “What did she give you?”

“Nothing, why?”

“But there must be a gift.”

That’s it for this week! Don’t forget to check out all the other posts on  Tuesday Tales.

 

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tuesday Tales: Picture Prompt Time

  1. jeanjoachim says:

    Oh, no! CLIFFHANGER! Now I need to know what the gift was. Although it seems to me that Paul is gift enough for her. I love how much he adores her. This is such a great story!

  2. Tricia says:

    I love that they are having this conversation after Paul tried to push it aside a little earlier. I can’t wait to see what the gift is!!

  3. Oooh, what’s the gift? I love her contact moments with the mermaid. Scary for almost drowning but beautiful for seeing the mermaid..

  4. Author says:

    very nice!!!! I love it and am intrigued by what the gift could be. Jillian

  5. Vicki Locey says:

    Oooo, I’m wondering what the gift could be!

Leave a Reply

