The Insecure Writer’ Support Group. Moving On After Disappointment

If you are here looking for the Midweek Tease, it’s just after this. 

Insecure Writers Support Group BadgeAs a writer, I have to admit to being insecure more often than not.  It’s nice to know there are others out there who feel the same way. If you have doubts, feel free to join others on this monthly blog hop. http://www.insecurewriterssupportgroup.com/p/iwsg-sign-up.html

This week’s question: Did you ever say “I quit”? If so, what happened to make you come back to writing?

I had to deal with bitter disappointment this week when my novel Sworn to Protect wasn’t chosen for publication by Kindle Scout. I really thought I had a shot at it this time, but I was wrong. The biggest problem is that I don’t know why the book wasn’t chosen. I know it’s reader-directed publishing, but it would be nice to be given a reason. Maybe romance suspense isn’t what they’re after. The only author i do know who was accepted wrote horror. Is there more demand for that? I don’t do erotica, so i can’t say whether or not that was a factor. I just know I got a thanks, but no thanks.

I had a decision to make. What should I do? Did I believe the book was good? I did, and because I did, I went ahead and indie published it. Should I have sent it to a publisher? Maybe, but lately since my sales from my publisher books are no better than my indie ones,  why give up the small royalty I get? I’ve already got a gorgeous cover which I love and edits were done at my expense, so where would be the benefit?

Before S & S took over Adams Media, my books were selling well, not blockbuster sales, but good enough to have a nice little check twice a year. But with the changeover, like many other Crimson Romance authors, sales have tanked. It’s discouraging to say the least. Being published by one of the Big 5 was supposed to be a boost to my writing career, but it’s had the exact opposite effect.

Have I thought of quitting? Definitely. I spend hundreds of hours on a book and for very little return. Could I spend my time doing something else? Definitely, but each time I decide this book will be the last, the ideas in my head refuse to let me walk away. They insist I put them down on paper and share them. So. that’s what I do. I open a new document and start again, hoping this time, I’ll have a winner. Isn’t that what all writers dream of?

 

 

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Insecure Writer’ Support Group. Moving On After Disappointment

  1. nancycweeksauthor says:

    I so feel your pain. Being an author is hard work for little return. I don’t know what the answer is. How do some make it while most of us work just as hard, but never seem to get our turn. I stay fast to my basic line. I write because I love the process of taking a thought in my head and making it into an amazing story. Just for the record, I love romantic suspense. Don’t stop writing it.

  2. Stephanie Scott says:

    First: i love the background of your blog. So cheery! Second: so sorry to hear the S&S takeover has not been helpful to you. I’ve been curious about some of the smaller imprints being swallowed up by the big guys. I’m technically with a big publisher but in their ebook only branch and well *ALL SMILES* Fortunately we have more options now with indie publishing. Sorry your book didn’t make Kindle Scout, but more and more people are trying it = more competition. Nice to connect with you for IWSG!

    Here’s my IWSG June post: how to survive the ‘little quits’

  3. trishafaye says:

    And we keep on going and keep on writing, don’t we? Love your post & your honest sharing, Susanne.

  4. Kai Tyler says:

    Hi Susanne, I’m sorry Sworn to Protect wasn’t accepted by Kindle Scout.
    I got an email from Kindle Scout saying the book was on sale and checked it out because I love the story. The teasers you posted were great. So hang in there.

  5. I had SO many rejections and “almosts” on my way to publication and, yes, I gave up a few times. And, spoiler alert, even once you get your first book published, the fight doesn’t end. It’s a constant roller coaster of, “They’re going to pass on this one” and book contracts and more rejections and sometimes YEARS of rejections. I’ve seen authors go four or five years in between book deals…and I always thought they chose that. Nope…they kept submitting books and getting that, “We’re going to pass” line over and over and over…

Leave a Reply

