Tuesday Tales: From a Picture

Hello! I will begin this morning by apologizing to all of my faithful followers. I haven’t dropped off the face of the Earth or forgotten you. I am currently in editing hell. With Simon and Schuster in the mix, Crimson Romance, their imprint now, has undergone a philosophical shift, and I have to make quite a few changes to my book to make the heroine fit into their new vision.  That being said, until edits are done, i will be focussing on them. Once They are, I’ll be back in the saddle.

badge-for-tt-very-small-1Welcome to this week’s Tuesday Tale. Thanks to Jean Joachim and the other talented authors who keep this blog going each week. Each week, authors post a scene from their current work in progress based on a word or picture prompt. This week is picture time, and the posts are limited to 300 words.

Here is the picture I chose.sky. sun, cloud

Here is my tale taken from Wedding Bell Blues. Enjoy!

MJ stood on the deck of the fishing boat, shifting her weight from one foot to the other, waiting for the remaining six passengers to board. The catamaran-style fishing vessel accommodated twelve passenger/fishermen at a time. She and Paul had been the first to board. Turning away from the shore, she stared out to sea.

In the distance, sun filtered through the last of the storm clouds, turning the sky an unearthly shade of blue-green almost identical to that of the emerald in her engagement ring. Was it an omen or another dash of Quimbois magic?

“Here you are,” Paul said, coming up beside her, and handing her the handwoven hat she’s chosen from the array on sale at the dock. “This should keep the sun off your pretty little nose while we’re fishing, and I have no problem rubbing sunscreen on the rest of you.” He wiggled his eyebrows playfully, before bending his head to kiss her.

“Geez. Get a room you two,” Bill Smith said, startling them apart, smiling at them as if he were the cat who’d swallowed the canary. He shifted his body, and MJ’s breath caught in her throat. “You remember Mark and Melena? We hooked up at breakfast. Mark mentioned he and MJ had history.”

Paul put his arm around her shoulder and pulled her into him. It would take a machete to cut through the tension in the air.

“Did he mention that he and I have history, too?” He glared at Mark. “I believe that little bump in your nose is from when I laid you out cold in the boxing ring.” He turned to Bill. “MJ and Mark dated for a while, but that’s ancient history now. Not even an archeologist find traces of it.”

Hope you enjoyed this week’s offering. If you haven’t had a chance to nominate  Sworn to Protect on Kindle Scout, this is the last week.

https://kindlescout.amazon.com/p/2SRDO9I5ANVW7

Now, don’t forget to check out all the other posts on  Tuesday Tales.

 

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Tuesday Tales: From a Picture

  1. karencino says:

    Lovely snippet you wrote around the picture prompt.

  2. Author says:

    wow! This part was very compelling: “Did he mention that he and I have history, too?” He glared at Mark. “I believe that little bump in your nose is from when I laid you out cold in the boxing ring.” He turned to Bill. “MJ and Mark dated for a while, but that’s ancient history now. Not even an archeologist find traces of it.”

    Jillian

  3. Tricia says:

    I could feel the tension between Mark and Paul. It was intense. Great job!

  4. jeanjoachim says:

    Love that last line. And Mark’s protective attitude. He’s such a hero, I just adore him. Wonderful story.

  5. mimi says:

    Even on a boat for only 12, there always has to be a jerk among them. Mark is the kind i want on my side against the jerks.

Leave a Reply

