2017 A to Z Challenge: G is for Grandma

2017 BadgeHello again and welcome to Day 7 of this year’s challenge. So far, the day is shaping up nicely with no weather warnings, and there’s a slight chance of spring temperatures. As I thought about today’s letter, I considered other G words. God is too big a topic to approach and goodness, great, gorgeous, just didn’t strike a chord. Looking around my office, the answer came to me. Today, I’m going for a change of pace.

GG is for Grandma. Being a grandparent is God’s way of rewarding parents for not killing their young. Don’t give me that look! If you were lucky enough to have kids, you know exactly what I mean. But grandchildren are different from your own. For one thing, they aren’t permanent fixtures, which means they eventually go home. Don’t get me wrong. I love my grandkids and I’m incredibly proud of each and every one of them.

20170408_083225_resizedI have five natural grandchildren. Hannah, 16, Nico, 11, Eleni, 10, Georgia 9, and Tonio, 7. I added two more when my widowed daughter met a man with two boys, so we also have Devon, 12, and Jordy, 7.  Christmas and Easter are a little costly, but seeing the joy on all of those little faces makes it all worthwhile.

When you are an author and a grandmother, you are in a position to offer some truly unique gifts. My eldest granddaughter lives in Norway. We were fortunate enough to visit her last year. They grow up so quickly! Since it isn’t easy to spoil her, I opted to provide her with a ‘one-of-a-kind’ gift last Christmas. I wrote her a book. Prove It! is my first YA novel. I centered the plot around Track and Field, which is a sportproveit-600x900 she’s involved with, and used the names of her cousin and closest friends as the names of secondary characters.  Hannah, of course is the main character, and this is a mystery a la Nancy Drew, written just for her. Prove It! is available in both digital and hardcopy exclusively through Amazon.

Have you ever given someone a unique and truly personal gift?

Don’t forget to visit the rest of today’s bloggers. A to Z Challenge Blog

6 thoughts on “2017 A to Z Challenge: G is for Grandma

  1. Lovely post! I loved the that you wrote a book for and about your grandchild that too based on Nancy drew (I loved those books stories while growing up) I don’t have children so don’t know about that aspect much. But I absolutely love my Grandma. 🙂
    Thanks for sharing
    Best Wishes!

  2. This statement made me laugh, “Being a grandparent is God’s way of rewarding parents for not killing their young.” I really enjoyed your post, and I have to say that Grandparents are so special! My boys are 6 and 3 so I am long way from that stage, but I love my own grandparents dearly. That said, my 6 year old was rambling away at me from the backseat not too long ago and part of what he said and I heard was, “next year when I’m a dad…” I almost drove off the road! Anyway, great post. Thanks for sharing.

    Girlfriend

    Shari

Leave a Reply

