2017 A to Z Challenge: E is for Echoes

2017 BadgeWell, I don’t see the neighbors starting on the Ark yet, but it’s only a matter of time. After months of ice or snowfall warnings, I guess I can live with a few days of rain. At least, it’ll get rid of the really dirty snow and give the grass a chance to green up.

Welcome to my fifth post in this year’s A to Z Challenge. Not having the linky list has made it a little harder to find people, but I’m enjoying those I’ve found. If you use WordPress and like a post, following them will make it easier to find them tomorrow. It’s a little harder with Blogger, but, we must persevere.

EFor the letter E, I’ve chosen to discuss echoes. How many times have you walked into an empty room and heard your voice reverberate? My grandkids love running into big rooms like the church hall and yell, just to hear the echo. I remember do much the same at their age. Sadly, I’ve never been anyplace outdoors where there is an echo, but I imagine, it must be eerie hearing your voice again.

In many ways, memories can be considered echoes because they aren’t the real thing, but come back to us just as echoes do–not all the time, but only under special circumstances. Sadly, for many as time passes, those memories, like echoes fade and are lost forever.

Do you believe in reincarnation? Many do, and if you’re one of them, then would your present life be an echo of your past one? I used that concept and combined it with a Mohawk myth to create the main plot for my novel, Echoes of the Past, set at the Lake of the Mountain in Prince Edward County, Ontario. If you get a chance to visit the area, you should. The lake’s very existence  continues to puzzle scientists to this very day. No one can figure where its water comes from! Check it out for yourself. http://prince-edward-county.com/item/lake-on-the-mountain/

Echoes of the Past Book Blurb:

Born Mohawk, raised white, forensic pathologist, Michelle Thomas is trapped between two worlds—this one and the spirit world where the ghosts of those who’ve drowned speak to her. Haunted by crippling nightmares of her own drowning death and erotic dreams of a phantom lover, she strives to make sense of her life. When two suspicious deaths occur at the Lake of the Mountain Resort, she’s sent to investigate. She’ll face the greatest challenge of her career when her past and her present collide. One of these men is her future, but which one—the rich and powerful Mayor Ron Davies, or Tony Steele, the hydrology professor who may be responsible for his students’ deaths? Charged by the spirits of her Mohawk ancestors to atone for her previous sins by protecting Lake of the Gods, can Michelle solve the murders, save the sacred waters, and fulfill her destiny?

Please drop by and visit more of the A to Z bloggers. A to Z Challenge Blog

 

17 thoughts on “2017 A to Z Challenge: E is for Echoes

  1. Thank you for reminding me about echoes- made me remember doing that as s child. Now I need to find a place to take the granddaughters to teach them how! Congratulations on your novel. I started one from an idea that came to me, I need to get back to it.

  2. I was gonna ask where you lived – if it’s Ontario, I feel you with the rains. It’s been gloomy for the past three days. Although I’m happy to see the snow is melting rapidly, it would be nice for some sunshine. ^^

    Poor Michelle! Sounds like that’s a heckuva responsibility to shoulder. Love the cover of your book, btw!

    And I’ll have to make a note to visit Lake of the Mountain. It’s not too far from me, and I love excuses to travel. 🙂

  3. Thank you for visiting my blog. I blog about my autistic brother in law, but I also have some sensory issues. Indoor echoes bother me a lot. The trend of building restaurants in spaces with bare walls and exposed ceilings leads to echoes which destroy my enjoyment of eating out with friends. My brother in law enjoy eating out, but I would guess that type of space would not be his favorite, either.

    • I have a friend with an autistic son so I know what change is like for him. While echoes don’t bother me, tight, crowded places do. I find some restaurants put the tables too close together and that bothers me.

  4. Your book sounds very interesting, quite intriguing.

    I agree with you about memories being like echoes. Many are fading for me already.

    I have been blessed to hear my echo in quite a few places, including from the side of a mountain. Echoes have always been a fun thing for me, but in lonely, dark places, they can be quite unnerving.

    Have a blessed night. 🙂

  5. I remember doing the echo experiment while in the mountain area of Tyrol Austria. It’s a cool effect! 🙂 Even though I’ve lived in southern Ontario since 1969, I’ve never been to Lake on the Mountain. Great idea for a future road trip. Your book sounds interesting. We finally have sunshine and warmth after a week of rain. Hope you do, too.

Leave a Reply

