Midweek Tease: Desert Deception

mwtease15Welcome to today’s Midweek Tease, the weekly blog hop made possible by Angelica Dawson. Each week this varied group of talented authors bring you a snippet from one of their published or soon to be published novel. The heat level varies from none to too hot to handle, so be warned. There’s something here for everyone.

This morning I’m taking you back to the Arizona desert and the Superstition Mountains with a tease from Desert Deception.

The blurb:

Seeing is believing, or is it?

When high-powered Santa Fe attorney Casey Stevens reluctantly returns to Fortune for Gold Rush Days, she is drawn to Cole Walker Junior, but he is no longer the shy, quiet boy she recalls. Then again, Cole isn’t the only one who has changed. The town may be celebrating its past, but someone is trying to destroy its future. A hit and run accident leaves Fortune’s only lawyer in a coma, forcing Casey to choose between helping innocent people and running away once more. Can she face the demons of her past or will they destroy her this time?

Cole Warner has a secret identity, one he’s determined to protect at all costs. The police officer, volunteer firefighter, and part-time store owner, is also popular western novelist, CJ Coleson, who uses Fortune and its people as the inspiration for his books. Having Casey walk into his life turns it upside down. When someone starts using the murders in Cole’s books to stage a killing spree of their own, keeping his secret may be too costly, but admitting the truth could ruin any chance they have for a happily ever after.

As the bodies pile up and the buildings burn down, Casey and Cole have to work together to stop a madman with gold fever before more people die. The answer lies on Superstition Mountain or is it all a desert deception?

Enjoy. 

She looked up at him. “How many other women have you brought out here for coffee?”

“Actually, you’re the first,” he admitted, glad she’d changed the topic.

“You’re kidding. With that moon and all these stars, this is probably one of the most romantic places I’ve ever seen. What makes me so special?”

“I’ve never met anyone I wanted to share this place with before,” he confessed. “I thought you’d appreciate it—kindred spirits, I guess.”

Suddenly, the sky was ablaze with streaks of white light as several meteoroids tore across it in the natural fireworks display Pete had mentioned.

“Did you know that was going to happen?” she asked.

The sense of awe in her voice pleased him.

“I’m impressed. Moonlight and fireworks—what a way to set the mood. And you’ve never shared this with another girl?”

“Nope. Did I know there’d be a meteoroid shower tonight? Not when I decided to bring you here, but Pete Putnam mentioned it when I was waiting for you.”

Putting down his empty mug, he stretched his body along the blanket, lifting his arms, and lacing his fingers behind his head. He watched the joy blossom on her face as she observed the heavenly shower.

“Well, it’s incredible. I can’t imagine any girl not being impressed in such a setting.”

Reaching up, he pulled her down so that she rested against him. He breathed in the floral scent of her shampoo.

“Good thing I’d finished my coffee,” she scolded, her voice catching as she spoke, but she didn’t pull away.

He nestled her head more deeply into his chest.

“How come we weren’t friends when I lived here?” she asked a few minutes later.

“I didn’t have the nerve to talk to girls back then. I was rather shy. Can you imagine what cradle-robbing would have done to what little reputation I had?”

“Seriously. I don’t think anyone would’ve accused you of cradle-robbing. Two years isn’t that big a gap.”

He twirled a strand of her silky hair around his finger. “We did talk once.” He closed his eyes, savoring the memory. “It was during my senior year. There was a carnival in town, and I’d watched you for over an hour trying to win a pink teddy bear. You came close, but then I heard you tell your friend that you’d run out of money. When you walked away, I decided I was going to win that bear for you.”

“I still have it. It’s on my bed at home,” she admitted shyly.

He chuckled. “A man likes to know his gifts are appreciated. Once I’d won it, I looked everywhere for you afraid you’d left. When I finally found you I said, very macho-man-like, ‛Here you go,’ and tossed it at you. You looked stunned. I walked away before you could say anything.”

“That was one of the happiest moments of my life. Thank you, Cole,” she whispered.

The soft brush of her lips surprised him, but like food offered to a starving man, he wasn’t going to refuse it. He groaned deep in his throat, entwined his fingers in her silky hair, and dragged her closer, pulling her body into his.

When she didn’t pull away, he deepened the kiss, giving free rein to the urgency within him. She moaned into his mouth fueling the fire burning through him. He shut his eyes blocking out everything but the sensation of her lips on his.

Casey was intoxicating and definitely the most wonderful thing he’d ever savored. He feasted on the flavor of his favorite coffee mixed with the tang that was hers alone, supped from the sweetness of her mouth, absorbing her very essence, and knew no other kiss had ever matched this one, and none ever would.

Please take time to visit the rest of this week’s teasers.

14 thoughts on “Midweek Tease: Desert Deception

Leave a Reply

