Tuesday Tales: From a Picture

badge-for-tt-very-small-1Hello and welcome to this week’s Tuesday Tales. I wasn’t sure I’d have a post this week, but as things have turned out, here it is. As is our custom, once a month we work from a picture and limit our post to 300 words.

Today, I continue with Wedding Bell Blues. Here’s the picture I chose. I’m sure I used something similar back in the fall, but…

bed

 

MJ rolled over and opened her eyes. The bed beside her was empty, but the indentation in the pillow proved Paul had spent some of the night there. Reaching for her glasses on the bedside table, she noted the time on the clock.

Yikes! It was almost noon. Getting up quickly, she hurried into the bathroom to shower and take care of her morning needs, the first of which were a couple of analgesics for the slight pounding in her head although she wasn’t nauseated as she’d been yesterday.

It had taken her ten minutes last night to convince him to share the bed. After all, they’d done so the previous night, and everything had been fine. He’d kissed her on the forehead and offered her the use of the bathroom first. Feeling like a pampered child rather than a new bride, she’d gone into the bathroom, determined to make him see her as a woman, but as soon as her head hit the pillow, she’d fallen asleep. So much for any alcohol induced femme fatale urges. So where was her gentleman bridegroom now?

A knock on the bathroom door startled her.

“MJ, it’s me. I heard you get up and I didn’t want to scare you. Brunch will be here in half an hour. I’ll be out of the deck when you’re done. Do you want tea or coffee?”

“Tea, please,” she answered, hoping she sounded as relaxed as he did.

Fifteen minutes later, dressed in yellow capris and a black and yellow gingham sleeveless blouse, she stepped out onto the deck. Paul sat in one of the loungers.

“Thanks for letting me sleep in,” she said, nervous about her role now. She was his wife, the old ball and chain. Did he feel trapped yet?

I hope you’ve enjoyed this week’s post. Don’t forget to check out all the other on  Tuesday Tales.

 

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tuesday Tales: From a Picture

  1. Vicki Locey says:

    Great little snippet!

  2. jeanjoachim says:

    Love this story and how they are creeping slowly toward each other. The barrier has to break down eventually. I can hardly wait.

  3. Love the last two lines. Great excerpt!

  4. trishafaye says:

    That’s a great way to work this picture prompt in with your story. Perfect! I love how you let us take a peek into what’s going on in her head.

  5. Tricia says:

    I love her introspect here, how she worried how he felt. And I love how relaxed he is. I can’t wait to read more!

Leave a Reply

