Cover Reveal! Desert Deception

It’s here! As I put the finishing touches on my newest novel, I want to share the blurb and cover with you.desertdeception-600x960

Desert Deception, isn’t an entirely new story. It grew out of Coming Home, Taking a Chance on Love, the book I co-wrote as Misty Matthews, that is no longer available. When SCP closed its doors as a publisher, Misty and I parted ways. We divided the spoils of our writing career between us, and we remain good friends.

Like Nature, I abhor a vacuum, and having that book sit there on my desktop, alone and forgotten bothered me. I wanted to do something with it, something that spoke to my  preference for romantic suspense and so, I opened the manuscript and went to work–slash and burn would be a good way to describe the changes I made.

Instead of a contemporary romance, you’ve got a modern day western, set in Arizona. I loved the idea of a writer keeping his identity a secret, and the idea that we don’t always remember the past accurately. With that in mind I tweaked that skeletal part of the story and built one of “my” style of murder and mayhem novels around it. This one is full of the twists and turns my readers love.

Here is the new blurb:

Seeing is believing, or is it?

When high-powered Santa Fe attorney Casey Stevens reluctantly returns to Fortune for Gold Rush Days, she is drawn to Cole Walker Junior, but he is no longer the shy, quiet boy she recalls. Then again, Cole isn’t the only one who has changed. The town may be celebrating its past, but someone is trying to destroy its future. A hit and run accident leaves Fortune’s only lawyer in a coma, forcing Casey to choose between helping innocent people and running away once more. Can she face the demons of her past or will they destroy her this time?

Cole Warner has a secret identity, one he’s determined to protect at all costs. The police officer, volunteer firefighter, and part-time store owner, is also popular western novelist, CJ Coleson, who uses Fortune and its people as the inspiration for his books. Having Casey walk into his life turns it upside down. When someone starts using the murders in Cole’s books to stage a killing spree of their own, keeping his secret may be too costly, but admitting the truth could ruin any chance they have for a happily ever after.

As the bodies pile up and the buildings burn down, Casey and Cole have to work together to stop a madman with gold fever before more people die. The answer lies on Superstition Mountain or is it all a desert deception?

Desert Deception will be out in e-book format by November 1st with the paperback to follow. Looking for a book to give as a Christmas present? This might be it!

 

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

