Day Two October Frights Blog Hop

14311380_1168912433152572_617117648576305373_o

Welcome back. Yesterday, I discussed the legend I used to create my novel, Echoes of the Past. Today, I want to talk about another aspect of ghosts and that revolves around orbs.

What are orbs? Chances are, you’ve probably seen them before, and may not have recognized them for what they are, and you may even think the photographs you took have been ruined because of them, but think again. Orbs are translucent circles, usually white, that appear unexpectedly in your photographs. They weren’t there when you took the picture and suddenly, they were. Orbs come in different sizes and range from a single spot to a whole number of them.

Some people believe that orbs are just dust motes or drops of moisture on the camera lens, but others have different ideas. They believe these orbs are ghostly manifestations or perhaps angels,captured by the camera.  When these orbs appear near a person or a group of people in a photo, it’s a sign that they are blessed and protected. When orbs appear in a particular place, it’s a sign that angels are hovering around.

In the past, I’ve had occasion to have orbs appear in my pictures when I least expected them to. This picture taken in 2005 shows orbs of different sizes around the family image of four generations. There are several in the picture including three beside me and one on my daughter’s face.  None of the other pictures that day had orbs in them.

4-generations

In May, 2016, I had the pleasure of visiting the castle in the harbor in Norway. I took pictures in many rooms, but only pictures of this particular cabinet showed orbs.

According to the guide book several hundred people died in this section of the castle.  img_3506

So, do you believe in ghosts or angels? I do.

Comment on today’s post for your chance to win a digital copy of The Captain’s Promise ,

a historical romance with a touch of clairvoyance in it.

You can learn more about me and my books by visiting my website. Would love to have you drop over!

http://www.mhsusannematthews.ca/

Highlight and open the link below to read more blogs for the day.

http://www.inlinkz.com/new/view.php?id=662296

See you tomorrow.

4 thoughts on “Day Two October Frights Blog Hop

  1. This was a really interesting post – I’m not sure about orbs – I’d like to believe them, but there’s a cynical part of me that reasons it scientifically with light, lenses and reflections – but it’s a very nice thought to think that spirits are that present.

    • Strangely enough, I went out of the room with the cabinet, took three or four pictures that were clear, and then went back in. I took five pictures of that cabinet from different angles in the room and they had orbs. A picture taken of the other side of the room was clear. I was spooked. lol It was the same with the Christmas picture. The only picture with the orbs was with the family all together. I took a picture of my daughter and grandson in that same spot and it was clear. Who knows?

Leave a Reply

