A to Z Challenge 2016: Reflecting on the Experience

A2Z-BADGE_[2016]Well, it’s been two weeks since the A to Z Challenge for 2016 ended, and I can honestly say this year was my best year ever. I admire the time and the commitment it must take to organize an event of this size, and I want to thank all of the organizers who did such an excellent job.

I learned a few tricks this year that made blogging easier. When I knew I had a conflict coming up, I blogged at night, setting the blog up for the next day. This prevented my “Oh damn, I didn’t blog today,” moments.

I also opted not to have a set theme, which allowed me to let the random thoughts that live in my head release at will. I did some shameless self-promotion, but I also promoted other writers. I wrote some deeply personal blogs as well as some general interest ones. All in all, my 26 entries were a good eclectic mix of who I am.

I followed some other bloggers and enjoyed their interesting and varied blogs. I actually managed to visit over 300 blogs–roughly ten per day–and found the visits motivating. During the time of the challenge I was also in an Amazon Kindle Scout campaign and got a few bloggers to support my book, which I really appreciated.

Thank you to  all who dropped by my blog, left a “like” or a comment, and of course those who’ve chosen to continue to follow me. Now, it’s back to work and let’s get ready for next year!

Here’s to the A to Z Chjallenge 2017. Please visit other reflections. http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/2016/05/2016-to-z-challenge-reflections.html

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A to Z Challenge 2016: Reflecting on the Experience

  1. Mary Lou says:

    Nice reflection! This was my first AtoZ and I loved it. I decided to focus on those with Themes so I’m glad I saw your reflection and I’m now looking forward to reading your posts! 🙂
    http://www.meinthemiddlewrites.com

  2. Jean Barrett says:

    I’m curious why this is your end of year (so to speak), and looking forward to a-z for 2017. I deliberately avoided a blog on my website because of all the hard work and consistency involved, so well done you.

Leave a Reply

