No Kindle Scout Program, but Hello Again is Live!

SpringGood morning! It’s finally spring. The sun is shining, the temperature is well above 32 F,  the buds on the trees are becoming baby leaves or flowers, and my tulips and hyacinths are in bloom. Hooray! Of course, dandelion fluff and all matter of allergens fill the air, but my allergy medicine is working, so we won’t go there today!

Spring is a time for new beginnings. Baby birds stretch their tender wings and learn to fly, and that first step out of the nest–pushed otr not–has to be the greatest risk of all. I thought I’d take a risk like that with my latest book, Hello Again, by enrolling it in a Kindle Scout Campaign. I had nothing to lose and, beyond the cost involved in self-publishing any book, the money involved was minimal. What I wasn’t prepared for was the nerve racking, nail biting  need to promote, promote, promote. I have to thank fellow Scouter and author, Vincent Morrone who made me banners to help promote the book, which was basically in competition with his. Sadly, neither of our books were selected for the Kindle Scout program, but I’m thrilled with how well Hello Again  performed. Since I have a reasonably low social media presence, the fact that more than 730 people visited the campaign page thrills me. Thank you so very much for doing so.

dandelionIn some ways, there are times when I feel like the dandelion. Now, if you aren’t a lawn fanatic, don’t live where the plant grows in profusion, and are not a spring allergy sufferer, you see this as a beautiful wildflower rather than a weed. Dandelion greens are edible, and the rest of the plant–roots and all–are used for a variety of things ranging from natural medicine to wine. In some ways, I feel my Kindle Scout Campaignmade me a little bit like that dandelion.  LIke a weed, I was all over what little social media I maintain, begging, cajoling, enticing people to visit the site and nominate the book. To be fair, I did suggest they read the excerpt … but there was a good, helpful side to all of this. I’ve realized how tiny my social footprint is and will have to do something about that. I made new friends and entertained people I hadn’t met before through the A to Z Challenge in April. All in all, I discovered that some marketing strategies work better than others. Will I attempt another Kindle Scout campaign? I honestly don’t know. I have quite a few book ideas percolating in my ind. Being able to find “the” one is much harder than anyone thinks! I need to grow a tougher skin when it comes to pushing my work–that I understand–and I may have to spend more money on paid promotion. We’ll just have to see. For now, I will nurse and nurture my new book baby and hope for good sales.

HelloAgain-ebookSince I’d made contingency plans for Hello Again, once I got the notification that I hadn’t made the cut, I uploaded the book to Amazon. For the next ninety days at least, it will be available to read freely under the Kindle Unlimited program or to purchase where that option isn’t available. I’ll put out a paperback version of it before the end of the summer.

I suppose I could’ve sent the book to one of my regular publishers, but that would mean losing the cover which I absolutely love. As well, it would’ve delayed its release indefinitely. It might also mean revisions, rewrites, and plot changes to a story I adore just as it is. Maybe that’s wrong thinking, since editors and publishers are supposed to know more about what works than authors, but at some point an author has to stick up for his/her work, and this is it for me.

In the words of Billy Joel:

You may be right
I may be crazy
But it just may be a lunatic you’re looking for
Turn out the light
Don’t try to save me
You may be wrong for all I know
But you may be right

Hello Again Cover Blurb:

For Charley Winters love means loss and pain. She’s spent the last five years struggling with her grief. Existing, not living. Drawn to Saskatchewan, she travels west take the job she’s always wanted. But life gets complicated when she’s rescued from a vicious tornado by her dead husband’s double, a man who makes her feel things she hasn’t in years. Add to that a native myth, a shaman, a green-eyed wolf, and her husband’s ghost … Can she lift a millennia old curse and find joy and love again?

You can pick up your copy from any Amazon retailer world-wide. I hope some of those 730 people will.

https://www.amazon.com/Hello-Again-Susanne-Matthews-ebook/dp/B01FGN88I6

Again, a super huge hug to everyone. Thanks for believing in me.

 

 

One thought on “No Kindle Scout Program, but Hello Again is Live!

Leave a Reply

