Tuesday Tales: From a Picture

Badge for TT - very small (1)Good morning and welcome back to Tuesday Tales. As we do once a month, today’s post is limited to 300 words and based on a picture. I’m continuing with my contemporary romance, Wedding Bell Blues. This is the photograph I chose. It looks too pretty to eat!

 

apple pie

“Come on,” he said abruptly. “We’re in number twelve. Over this way. I need a drink, too, and then you can tell me what really happened, because you just said ‘my’ reservation and that they’d found ‘me’ a room. That’s kind of odd for a newlywed even in today’s society. I know why I’m alone, why the hell are you?”

“Don’t use that tone with me,” MJ shouted defensively, stopped walking, and glared at Paul. She put her hands on her hips. “I had a reservation,” she said defiantly. “Otherwise, I wouldn’t have come all the way out here on the chance they’d have a vacancy. It’s not like I can just turn around and go home.”

His gaze bored into hers, and she dropped her eyes first.

Damn!

Relaxing her stance, she clenched her fists at her side, and bit her lower lip. She had to stay calm or else she’d have that asthma attack for sure, and more drama was the last thing she wanted. None of this was really Paul’s fault, so she shouldn’t take her frustration out on him. He was just trying to help her and his question deserved an answer, even if it was going to humiliate her. As he’d said, what else are big brothers for?

She needed something to eat. What she wouldn’t give for Mama’s apple torte right about now. Something highly fattening might make her feel better, but she doubted it. But if her mouth were crammed full of pastry, she wouldn’t have to answer.

“I didn’t expect this. First the mess at the desk, then dinosaurs, you ask if I’m pregnant, and now …” she indicated the lagoon. “It’s like something straight out of a Hollywood movie, and the joke’s on me.” Tears brimmed her eyes and she swallowed.

That’s it!

Please drop by and visit all of this week’s  Tuesday Tales

11 thoughts on “Tuesday Tales: From a Picture

  1. Ohhhhh, poor thing! I want to keep reading!
    We used the same picture. Isn’t that just the yummiest looking?
    I love how you used the prompt in an usual way. Great job!

  2. Aww, poor woman. I think she needs a bite of that apple pie with whipped cream. Great description of her state.

Leave a Reply

