A to Z Challenge 2016: Z is for Zilch

ZWell, here we are on the last day of this year’s challenge, and I’ve got zilch. That’s right, for the letter Z,  I have nothing, zero, zip, nada, nix, rien, nil, the big goose egg, empty handed, drawn a blank–I could go on, but you get the picture. Zilch is just another word for nothing, but it seems so much more final than many of its synonyms.

I thought about many other Z words, but seriously when I considered zoo,  zoology, Zeke, zero, zip, or zinnia, I got zilch. I couldn’t think of a single interesting thing to say that hasn’t been said before.  Zoom-zoom was out of the question because I HATE that commercial. Enough said. So, for my last post, I’ll speak of nothing.

Banner for Kindle ScoutFor the last few days, I’ve been  dwelling on disappointment, and I’ve come to realize I have nothing to be disappointed about. Zilch! While it’s true that my latest novel, Hello Again, didn’t garner enough nominations to be published by Kindle Press, it will still be published by me, and hopefully will sell well. If you haven’t had a chance to read the excerpt and nominate it, May 1 is the very last day. You can check it out here.

https://kindlescout.amazon.com/p/18M9BEDK8IVLH

In my life, I’ve spent way too much time on regret, and that’s done zilch for my career, my self-esteem, or my long-range plans. Dwelling on the past does nothing for you. People are supposed to learn from their mistakes, but we don’t. Who remembers the first time they had too much alcohol and spent the night “dying” next to the great white telephone? My hand is up; is yours? Do you remember begging God to let you live and you’d never do it again? Uh-huh, and did you? Yup. All those prayers did zilch for  you when fraced with peer pressure and alcohol, although, truth be told, I don’t overdo the way I did in my early twenties when I was young and carefree. Recoovery takes SO much longer now.

hyperlinkedSo, for today, I’ve got zilch–No regrets. I enjoyed the A to Z Challenge and hope to see you all again next year. This isn’t my last post–I’ll be around at least twice a week if you care to keep visiting, but now, for the last time, please hop over to the A to Z Challenge List to check out other incredible blogs.

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A to Z Challenge 2016: Z is for Zilch

  1. Jean Barrett says:

    I’ve enjoyed these a-z.

  2. trishafaye says:

    Haha, Susanne! Zilch, but you wrapped it up with a bang, using a terrific word like that!
    Congratulations on making it through to Z!

  3. Barbed Words says:

    Zilch wasn’t zilch at all! Congrats on finishing the A-Z 🤗

  4. celticmama36 says:

    I have enjoyed reading your A to Z posts and look forward to reading more of your blog.

    I nominated your book and if I could do it fifty times more, I would. You had me in tears from the story about the Indian girl and the wolf to the story of the soldier, his wife, and the babies. I’ve lost my daddy. I’ve almost lost my husband on several occasions. I’ve lost babies. And I have a son that is a US Marine and one that is a sailor for the US Navy. I cringe every time there is a knock at the door…

    You’re a brilliant writer. The only other writer than has brought me this many tears in such few words was Debbie Macomber. I look forward to reading more of your writing.

    Have a blessed day!

    • Thank you. Being comp[ared to Debbie Macomber is a huge compliment. If Hello Again will definitely get published and when it does, I will definitely post the information here. Have a great rest of 2016. My condolences on all of your losses.I’ll keep your son in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

