A to Z Challenge 2016 Y is for Youth

YWelcome to the second last post in the A to Z Challenge for 2016. It’s been an incredible experience, and I hope you’ve enjoyed it as much as I have.

Today, the letter of the day is Y, incidentally, the only one I ever got right when dancing to the song YMCA. I could manage to get my hands up in time for that, but the others were always hit ot miss.

There is an adage that says “youth is wated on the young.” It was attributed to George Benard Shaw, but what he actually said was a bit different.

“Youth,” he replied, “is the most beautiful thing in this world—and what a pity that it has to be wasted on children!”

In some ways, he’s correct, but in others, he’s missed the mark. It’s true that children may not always appreciate everything around them, but it takes those experiences to help those children become adults.

Only a fool would say all children have it well. I had a great childhood, but I didn’t live in poverty, in a war-torn country. I wasn’t abused, beaten, starved because I was female. No, I grew up in Canada, and while my family was by no means rich, I had everything I could possibly need–clothes to wear, a roof over my head, loving parents with me still, food to eat, and the chance at the education I wanted–things people often take for granted, and I suppose I did, too, at the time.

As I aged and my world grew to include the man I loved and the children I bore, I was still young enough to enjoy the wonder of being a mother. I became a teacher when I had the energy to keep up with the children I taught.

I don’t agree with Shaw. Youth isn’t wasted on the children. It’s the groundwork that got me where I am today. Physically, I may not be able to do what I could years ago, but I can appreciate the memories and understand that in may ways, youth is a state of mind. I’m still young at heart.

So, today, I give you Frank Sinatra and Young at Heart.

Now, please hop over to the A to Z Challenge List to check out other incredible blogs.

 

One thought on “A to Z Challenge 2016 Y is for Youth

  1. This was a very interesting post. I agree that it is a state of mind, at least most of the time. My mind says I’m about 40 years older than my birth certificate says that I am. haha I do have my moments of feeling like a 19 year old again, though. 🙂

    Have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

