A to Z Challenge 2016 X is for Xanadu

XWelcome to Living the Dream. As we count down the last few letters of the alphabet, today belongs to the letter X. Now, that letter is a lot like a cuckoo bird. Instead of looking for words of its own to start, it puts in sound in the nest of other letters, especially the letter E, which let’s face it, is a word hog anyway. Words like execute, excitement, and even ecstacy, sound like they should start with X but don’t.

So when I was thinking of X words, the first few lines of Samuel taylor Coolridges’ poem, Kunbla Hkahn, came to mind. Back in the Stone Age, when I was in high school, we used to have to memorize poerty–not just to recite it, but to write it down. The first five lines always stayed with me.

In Xanadu did Kubla Khan
A stately pleasure-dome decree:
Where Alph, the sacred river, ran
Through caverns measureless to man
Down to a sunless sea.

 

Xanada was supposed to be China, but to me, it seemed to be a magical place. Imagine my surprise when back in 1980, there was a movie entitled Xanadu, starring Olivia Newton-John, and Xanadu became Mount Olympus. Take a few minutes to listen to the title track from the movie.

 

 

Don’t forget to hop over to the A to Z Challenge List to check out other incredible blogs.

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A to Z Challenge 2016 X is for Xanadu

  1. Ahhh 1980. I remember that song and singing it with my friends. Great X choice!

  2. Michael says:

    Reminds me of Frankie Goes to Hollywood song?
    thanks for popping in at my allotment, sorry I wasn’t there to put the kettle on No190

  3. Barbed Words says:

    I had to learn those lines too but it’s the song that really resonates- total classic!!

  4. Kathryn says:

    I love that thought about e being a word hog. It should go and we could have a few good x words!

  5. Anne M Bray says:

    Ha. Olivia Newton-John was the opposite of what interested me in 1980, and that is one seriously wacky clip. Now I need to rent the whole thing!
    Thanks for dropping by my A-Z!
    Anne M Bray, Tartans A-Z from
    Pattern Recognition

Leave a Reply

