Midweek Tease: Forever and Always

Good morning. If you are looking for the A to Z Challenge for the letter W, just scroll down! You’re welcome to read this post, too!

MWTease15As April draws to a close, I am amazed at how quickly time is passing. I know it doesn’t move any faster than it did, but now that I’m in my so-called golden years, it sure seems to have picked up speed.

For those of you here for the first time, the Midweek Tease is a weekly blog maintained by Angelica Dawson where a variety of authors share their work with you.

This week, I have a special treat for you. Today only, April 27, 2016, my novella, Forever and Always, is free to download from  most Amazon sites. Please download a copy and enjoy. No strings attached. Here is the link: http://www.amazon.com/Forever-Always-Susanne-Matthews-ebook/dp/B01CEVSEFA

Here is this week’s tease:

forever&always-001(1)

She raised her glass to her lips and sipped.

“You know, they always had champagne at the after parties, but it never tasted like this.”

“It should have. You deserve nothing but the best. So, is tonight as bad as you thought it would be?”

“Out here, it’s beautiful. In there, not so much.” She turned and looked at him. “I really can’t blame Hope for opening old wounds. She’s just a child and doesn’t understand how painful this is for me, but some of the others… I appreciate you sticking by me tonight. I don’t know how to thank you. You fixed my house, brought me flowers and rescued me from the crazed masses….”

“No thanks necessary. Maybe I’m just making up for lost time. I’ve waited more than ten years to get you alone,” he said, quietly.

“That sounds almost ominous,” she said, and smiled weakly. “I’ve been watching a lot of television. When someone says that, it usually means someone else is in trouble.”

“Not in trouble, never in trouble. I’m not trying to creep you out, so relax.”

She nodded.

He let out the breath he’d been holding. The last thing he wanted to do was scare her.

“Most of high school’s a blur to me,” she said, wistfully. “I barely remember those people, some not at all. I was always on the run, but I’m sure I’d have noticed if you approached me—said anything—I didn’t even think you liked me.”

“Liked you? I had the biggest crush on you, and a lot of the guys knew it, but what was I going to do? You never had a spare minute. I still can’t figure out where you found the time to eat, sleep, and study. I used to watch you race across the quad to the bus, too stressed and in a hurry to even notice me. Do you know I attended every performance you gave here before they whisked you away to Toronto? You were so dainty. It looked as if your feet didn’t even touch the ground.”

“I’m not so dainty now,” she said, sadly. “More like a bull in a china shop, constantly in danger of knocking something over or falling down.”

“From where I sit, you’ll always be the fairy princess flitting off to another world. I was just about ready to make my move when you made yours. I know you didn’t want this, but knowing I can catch up with you now isn’t such a bad thing for me. It sounds selfish—and it is—but I can finally talk to you, be with you, touch you, and even hold you in my arms like this.” He put his arm around her, pleased when she didn’t pull away.

Now, stop by and visit the rest of this week’s teasers.

 

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Midweek Tease: Forever and Always

  1. angelicadawson says:

    Great tease. Thank you for sharing and I’ll make sure I grab a copy!

  2. S.J. Maylee says:

    This tease hit so close to home for me. I’m so reading this. I’ve danced all my life, only changing direction when my knees gave me trouble. Fab tease. I just got my copy. 😀

  3. Author Jessica E. Subject says:

    Oh, this is so very sweet! I love it. Going to get my copy now. Thank you! 🙂

  4. siobhanmuir says:

    What a sweet tease. Nicely done, Susanne. 🙂

  5. celticmama36 says:

    I just got a copy of your book, too. Thanks! It sounds like a very interesting story. 🙂
    Have a blessed night!

Leave a Reply

