A to Z Challenge 2016: V is for Vision

VHello again. Thanks for dropping by Living the Dream today. The A to Z  Challenge is winding down and in some ways, I’ll be sorry to see it end. I’ve enjoyed reading new blogs and meeting new bloggers.

Today, the day belongs to the letter V. I’ve decided to blog about vision. There are different kinds of visions, but I want to concentrate on eyesight, the sense which to me is the most important ones.  I wear eyeglasses and have for most of my life. I have an underdeveloped optic nerve, which essentially means I’m blind in one eye. I have peripheral vision only. That means the other eye does all of the work.

My greatest fear has always been that I would damage my good eye. A few years ago, a friend suggested I consider laser eye surgery and get rid of those unattractive glasses. I declined, terrified that if something went wrong, I’d be blind. I’m a visuallearner. I learn by seeing–not listening, not necessarily doing.

As I age, I appreciate the need to take good care of my vision. At the moment, I have three different pairs of glasses with my latest prescription as well as contact lenses which I wear when I get all dressed up. I have prescription sunglasses for sunny days. I have progressive lenses which transition–my “good glasses” for everyday wear, and I have computer glasses, an intermediate prescrition desgned to ease eye strain when I work on the computer. Sound excessive? Not really. If you depend on glasses to see, you know a back-up pair is essential for driving. Have your lens fall out when you’re on the highway and you’ll understand.

Vision, to me is the most important of the five senses. A cold has often robbed me of the sense of smell and taste. While I can’t imagine not being able to hear or feel, not being able to see would be too painful to consider.

Now, please hop over to the A to Z Challenge List to check out other incredible blogs.

 

8 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge 2016: V is for Vision

  1. Oh man. Going blind would definitely be scary. I can understand the worry about possibly damaging the one good eye by getting laser surgery – it is just the sort of irony that the universe likes: Going blind while undergoing surgery to be able to see better.

    I’ll still with glasses and contacts, too!

  2. Here from the A-Z, I’ve read somewhere that 80% of our stimuli is processed by our eyes, so if that is true then absolutely the eyes are our least dispensable sense.

    Best wishes,
    Nilanjana.
    Ninja Minion, A-Z 2016
    Madly-in-Verse

Leave a Reply

