A to Z Challenge 2016: U as in Uncomfortable

UHello and welcome to the last week of the A to Z Challenge, the one featuring all the difficult letters of the alphabet. Today, we give the stage to the letter U. I’ve decided to  do a personal post on what makes me uncomfortable.

I’ll start by confessing that I am not, and never have been, a real “people” person. I’m uncomfortable in crowds, especially when I’m sober and everyone else has had more alcohol than they should have. I’m a first class introvert and just because I live with an extrovert doesn’t mean I’ve adapted to his preferences.

Crowds inevitably lead to my next uncomfortable point, people invading my personal space. I’m not a touchy-feely person. I don’t appreciate strangers kissing me as it that’s perfectly fine. We used to go out each year to New Year’s Eve parties. The worst part  was always midnight when anyone and everyone decided it was okay to swap spit with me. No matter how often I tried to offer a cheek, I inevitably got stranger drool on me. Don’t get me wrong. I have no problem kissing my friends and family, I just dislike having strangers get overly friendly that way, and by strangers I mean everyone I don’t consider a close friend. Just because you know my husband, my kids, my parents, or the neighbors doesn’t make you my friend.

Another thing that makes me uncomfortable is small talk. Why? Because I suck at it. I’m terrified my opinions on religion, politics, someone’s size ot wardrobe, food choices, child-rearing preferences,  or whatever will offend someone. The only good thing about being at a party in a bar is that the loud music makes that kind of situation difficult–but house parties? Shoot me now. Do you want to talk about my books, my writing or my grandkids, fine. I can go on for hours, but anything else … not so much.

So, what makes me uncomfortable? Many things that others enjoy, but the bottom line, everyone is uncomfortable about something.

Now, please hop over to the A to Z Challenge List to check out other incredible blogs.A2Z-BADGE_[2016]

 

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A to Z Challenge 2016: U as in Uncomfortable

  1. Being an introvert, I am not really a crowd person and man I hate people greeting me with a kiss on the cheek. I am uncomfortable with people bitching about my closed ones and I try to be diplomatic.

    https://mhsusannematthews.wordpress.com/

  2. It’s true. We all feel uncomfortable for some reason or other. Luckily, I do like people. Sometimes it’s awkward because I tend to say what I think. And of course, as a writer I’m often not entirely paying attention to the real world around me. I’ve said lots of stupid things and had to apologize to many for not acknowledging their presence. 🙂 So, I make my own life uncomfortable. LOL

    • Thanks for sharing. I’m often in another world, especially when I see someone who might make an interesting character and I’m turni9ng them into a serial killer or worse in my mind.

  3. trishafaye says:

    Great word choice for ‘U’. Yes, I mentioned that last night. I was sitting there saying ‘Yay, only one more week.’ As I ticked off the letters still to come, I realized that besides the Q, all the other tough ones come in one last final week.
    I can understand your introvert reluctance’s. Although I’ve come out of my shell a bit as I’ve aged, I’m still not comfortable with larger crowds, even when I know everyone there.

  4. greyzoned/angelsbark says:

    I hate small talk too! It bores me. I used to be an extrovert and I guess I still am, but as I’ve gotten older I seem to have become more introverted. I’m not as comfortable in crowds as i used to be and the small talk just makes me irritable! So I hear ya…

    Michele at Angels Bark

    • Thanks for dropping by. I have a new annoyance. I was shopping today and the salesclerk kept calling me “honey.” That really annoyed me and made me uncomfortable–of course I didn’t say anything…

  5. traceyr1984 says:

    A fellow introvert and A to Zer stopping by. Yes, small talk is the worst.

Leave a Reply

