A to Z Challenge 2016: S is for S words like Sound and Silence.

SHello again, and welcome to Living the Dream. It’s nice to see so many people stop by and choose to keep dropping in after that. You are all welcome.

Today, the letter of the day in the A to Z Challenge is the snaky letter S. Have you ever thought about the sound of the letter S? It’s like the hiss of a snake or the sound of air seeping out of a tire. It can remind you of the sizzle of steak on a grill, or the snap of a bursting balloon.

There are many positive S words, like soldier, sentinel, safety, safeguard, and savior, but then the letter also introduces words with negative implications–secret, slimy, sneaky, sin, and sly. When I think of the letter S, I inevitably think of silence.

Silence is highly underrated. I need silence to write. I don’t have mood music in the background. If the weather’s nice, I’ll have the window open and listen to the outdoor sounds–the singing of birds,  the buzzing of insects, the noises associated with yard work: saws, lawn mowvers, weed whackers. If it’s a particularly quiet day, I may even hear the sing-song sound of my water fountain located just under my office window.

What do I hear right now? The clatter of the keys as I press them and the hum of the fan in my desktop.I also hear the heater go on and off since the temperature is anything but spring-like today, although the sun is shining. But what I hear most in the silence are my own thoughts and ideas as I commit them to this document.

Being an author is a second career for me after spending more than 30 years as an educator. I was one of the lucky ones who got to be a stay-at-home mom until my children were all in school full-time. As a teacher, I was able to spend a lot of time with my family, a gift for which I was and am grateful. Now that I’ve retired, I get to spend my days spinning tales, using that enormous imagination I have to entertain and amuse.

As a writer, one of the most difficult tasks I’ve undertaken was writing Secrets and Lies,Hearts of Braden book. Each book in the series is stand-alone, written by  separate authors, and completed within weeks and months of one another. The covers, similar in nature and designed by the same cover artist, depict the fact the books are set in the same small town, but with different starring characters. What made writing this book so hard was incorporating charcters from previous books based solely on the authors brief description of them. So, while I could invent charcters, I had to adhere to a setting and minor charcters that were a mystery to me. But, amazingly it worked well. I’ve had a chance to read other books in the series and it’s amazing that everything worked out so well. In the silece of my office, I imagined my characters and theirs and spun my story.

About Secrets and Lies:

Secrets&LiesFinaleBookSmall (2)DEA agent, Emily Shepherd, is after the Chef, a crystal meth cook, who sets up labs for the Mexican cartel and walks away—the same man responsible for the deaths of her husband and unborn child. Her search leads her to Braden, Iowa, a small town just right for the Chef’s specialty. But identifying her quarry won’t be easy when she’s up against a woman who sees her as a threat, a male chauvinistic deputy sheriff, and an attractive school principal who might just be at the center of it all.
Jackson Harris has sworn off women. Life is satisfactory, if lonely, until he meets a hazel-eyed damsel in distress who gets under his skin, and triggers that protective instinct of his. There’s a killer in town, one who may or may not be a notorious drug lord. Finding him, and keeping his town, his students, and Emily safe, may be harder than he thinks.
Love is breaking out in Braden, Iowa. Follow all the romance with this collection of stories. Secrets and Lies is part of the Hearts of Braden Series, a multi-author series Secrets and Lies stands alone for your reading enjoyment, but the story doesn’t need to end there.

Buy link: http://www.amazon.com/Secrets-Lies-Hearts-Braden-Book-ebook/dp/B0184FUC5U

Now, please hop over to the A to Z Challenge List to check out other incredible blogs.

 

 

4 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge 2016: S is for S words like Sound and Silence.

  1. This sounds like an interesting store, but even more interesting to me is the thought of a series of books where each has a different author. How does one keep up with continuity issues if one doesn’t “know” the characters in the other authors’ stories?

    Have a blessed weekend!

Leave a Reply

