A to Z Challenge 2016: R is for Reading Versus Listening

RGood morning. Thank you for dropping by and visiting Living the Dream today. It’s been an exciting month and I look forward to checking my stats each day and seeing all the different national flags. Back on April 7, 2016, I blogged about Five Fascinating Facts about Audio Books. I had the opportunity to listen to Elizabeth Meyette’s The Cavanaugh House since then, and can honestly say, WOW! What an experinece.

Since today is dedicated to the letter R, I’m going to discuss Reading vs Listening. It’s a win-win situation.  I love to read almost as much as I love to write, but there is a disadvantage to reading–you can’t do it and do something else like make dinner or clean the house at the same time. The Cavanaugh House s a long book, and I’d started it a few weeks ago, but with the amount of time it took to get Hello Again completed and ready for the Kindle Scout Campaign, I had to set it aside. When I read, my imagination conjures up the world in the book,. I’m transported there, much the way I am when I write. I see things in my imagination that make the story real.

TCH Audiobook Cover - TCH3When I was asked to listen to The Cavanaugh House I had mixed feeling. I’m a visual person. Would I get the same emotional/psychological impact from listening alone? I wasn’t sure. But then it dawned on me that I listen to my own books as I read them through for editing. While it’s true, I’m concerned with missing words and awkward sentences, once I get to the final read, i do a lot of visualizing. Could I do the same for Elizabeth’s book?

At firsat, I decided to read and listen at the same time, going over what I’d read before, but since my reading speed and the narrator’s speed were different, that actually became frustrating. I  realized something else–reading along didn’t change anything from the regular reading time. I decided to try the audio alone. It only took a few pages for the narrator to suck me into the story. Lo and behold, I was as into it as I was reading. and I loved it. I also managed to make supper and clean the house, while staying in the story. Since I got sucked in so deep, I wouldn’t recommend reading and driving, but if you have a commute and someone else drives, go for it.

Listening will never replace reading for me, unless i get to a point where I can’t read, but it’s definitely an option I’ll consider in the future.   Want to read  or listen to The Cavanaugh House? Here’s the link. http://www.amazon.com/Cavanaugh-House-Elizabeth-Meyette-ebook/dp/B00KBAZ9ZK

Take a minute now, to go and find other great bog posts on the A to Z Challenge List

28 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge 2016: R is for Reading Versus Listening

  1. I haven’t really given audio books a try, because I love to hold a book in my hand as I read. But I may try it sometime while I’m cleaning house or going through clutter. It might help pass the time and let me hear a new story! Thanks for commenting on my blog!

  2. I have not listened to audio books but have heard a few podcasts while I drive. Maybe I’ll give one a try, except, just like in my scrapbooking, I’m a hands-on person and don’t do digital. I prefer the touch and feel. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  3. Like you, I love to read and listen. I listen to audiobooks on my commute and have no trouble at all. I guess one difference for me is that I often choose to listen to mysteries and to read literary. Mysteries often don’t have as much figurative language or fragmented timelines as literary fiction does, so the level of concentration need not be as high. (Of course, then there are the literary mysteries.) But I find I love going to work and catching up on my audio story just as I love going to bed and catching up on my book. As you say, win-win.
    @deb_atwood from
    Pen In Her Hand

    • Sounds like you’ve discovered the perfect combination, Deb. My favorite driving-time audiobooks are mystery, too. When it comes to non-fiction, I need the book because I mark it up, dog-ear pages and use a highlighter…which is funny because I was once a school librarian and taught the kids never to do that 🙂

  4. I think it depends on the person. When my mother drives a long distance (like the 6 hours to Mammoth Lakes or Las Vegas), she’d rather have books to listen to. And she’s doing the driving. Lots of students love to hear books rather than read them, too.

  5. I also tend to get sucked into the story that I am reading. This was really easy to do with the Blossom Street series by Debbie Macomber. It was like all of the characters became family…their hurts were my hurts; their joys, my joys. I think that this makes reading even more of an adventure or escape.

    Thanks for another interesting post. Have a blessed day!

  6. HI,
    I feel the same way. Listening will never replace reading for me. It is something about reading that makes me lose myself. Therefore, I don’t buy many audio books. I avoid them. Which reminds me, I have one of your short stories in a a short story collection and i am looking forward to reading it.

    Shalom,
    Patricia

Leave a Reply

