A to Z Challenge: 2016 O is For Oslo

OWelcome back to the A to Z Challenge. I hope you had a wonderful day off. Today’s letter is O and I’ve opted to write about Oslo. Oslo, population approximately 650,000, is the capital of Norway and its most populated city. It is home to Norway’s royal family. More importantly for me, it’s home to my second son, his wife and my grand-daughter who will be making her konfirmasjon this year, the reason for my upcoming visit there. The confirmation is a significant rite of passgae for Norwegian youth and my hasband and I are honored to be part of this event in Hannah’s life.

I’ve been doing my reading and checking the Internet for what to see and what to do while we are in Olso. The travel guides offer many ideas and I’m sure we’ll be as busy as we can be.
Oslo_komm.svg

Canada has a Coat of arms, and many Canadian cities, including mine, have a logo, but that isn’t anywhere near as impressive as a Coat of Arms like the city has. Oslo, the name comes from Old Norse, was founded officially in 1049 AD, but evidence suggested it had been an urban settlement well before 1000 AD.In 1624, after the city was destroyed, and not for the first time, the king had it moved slightly and rebuilt, renaming it Christiania. In 1877, that name was changed to Kristiania, and then in 1925, it became Oslo once more. What an incredibly rich past and heritage!

While I am there, I want to soak in as much of the city’s history as I can. I want to see the parks and the famous sculptures, the harbor, the opera house, the place where the Nobel prizes are given, and of course, the royal palace. I want to explore the museums and see the old buildings and the Vikings ships. But most importantly, I want to spend quality time with my family. And so, come the end of May, Olso, here I come.

Now, please hop over to the A to Z Challenge List to check out other incredible blogs.

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A to Z Challenge: 2016 O is For Oslo

  1. I visited Oslo briefly many years ago but I still remember how fabulous it was. You’re sure to have a wonderful time.

    http://susan-a-eamestravelfictionandphotos.blogspot.ie/

Leave a Reply

