A to Z Challenge 2016: L is for Luggage

LGood day. Today, on Living the Dream, we have the lovely letter L and I’m going to discuss luggage.

Now, most people probably don’t worry about luggage unless they have to travel by air or, now in Canada, by train. Why? Because VIA, has decided to follow the same luggage rules as most major ailines. Now, for a weekend, I can handle a bag that is Max. 11,5 kg (25 lb.), Max. 43 x 15 x 33 cm or 17 x 6 x 13 in. The restriction that irks me is the one for large bags. Max. 23 kg (50 lb.) Max. 158 linear cm or 62 linear in.

It isn’t that I have tons of clothes, it’s just that it seems unfair to limit the weight of the bag–if Ican get it in there, who cares what it weighs? I watched the way those guys tossed the luggage around at the airport last year. If the bag weighed 60 lbs instead of 50, I doubt they’d notice.

You would be amazed at how quickly clothing adds up to 50 lbs, and if you happen to be traveling where the weather is changeable … Jeans, sweaters and heavier shoes quickly add up. If you’re going somewhere where you have laundry facilities, you can take advantage of that, but for most people, you have to take as much as you can with you, with little or no hope of doing laundry. Last year, we took an Alaskan cruise and so I needed dressy clothes as well as casual clothes, and since the weather could’ve been an issue, clothes for cooler temperatures. It was a real challenge getting all that into the suitcase and under weight! With the restrictions on what can be in hand luggage, all those liquids–make-up, shapoo, deordoarnt, perfume–have to go in the suitcase, too. This year, I’m going to do a few things differently, not bring shampoo and conditioner and use what’s available, but overall I can say. packing and keeping the luggage underweight will be the biggest challenge of all.

Now, please hop over to the A to Z Challenge List to check out other incredible blogs.

 

14 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge 2016: L is for Luggage

  1. We are big travelers here, but I still have not mastered the art of packing light. Shoes are my downfall : ) Thanks for visiting my blog. Best of luck as you write through the alphabet!

  2. I so agree with you. I travel back and forth to the North American continent and it bugs me that I have to watch out that my luggage is not overweight. Also, now they have restrictions on how many pieces of luggage I can check in before I start paying. Most airlines are limiting European traveler who travel to the North American Continent to one piece of luggage and one carry on. So what do I do with my purse and my laptop???

    Good post. I could let off some steam about this.

    Shalom,
    Patricia @ EverythingMustChange

  3. Since I don’t travel a lot, and when I do it’s usually by car, I didn’t know this about luggage. The few times I’ve flown I just packed and didn’t worry about it. That was a few years ago though. I suppose the rules have changed since then.

Leave a Reply

