A to Z Challenge 2016 I is for Inspiration

IIs is spring yet? The calendar says it is, but the weather doesn’t agree. It’s cold, we had snow last week, and we are expecting more this week. Today, the letter of the day is I as in inspiration. What inspires you?

I’ve been asked many times where I get the ideas for my books. People want to know what inspires me. The answer is simple: everything. Inspiration is all around me. Seemingly random events and ideas can be grouped together in a number of different ways.

IMG_1155Last year, my husband and I took an Alaskan Cruise. The weather was perfect. On a whim, my husband decided we should take a float plane ride. Since I’m not a fan of flying, I wasn’t too thrilled, but once I was airborne, I couldn’t get over what a tremendous way it was to see the Misty Fiord Monument, which is a nature preserve in south eastern Alaska. This picture shows our plane and the pilot. It doesn’t look very big, but there were seven of us in that! And it was noisy!

I used what I saw from the plane as part of the plot in my last Harvester series book, The White Iris. I needed an isolated place and that park fit the bill perfectly. This particular valley was the one I used as the Promised Land. Isn’t it spectacular? IMG_1070

Seeing the monument from the air was incredible. Sadly, the week after we got home, a float plane crashed in the park, killing everyone aboard. That thought was sobering and brought home the risk we took. Would I do it again? I don’t know, but the inspiration it provided was priceless. IMG_1078
Now, please hop over to the A to Z Challenge List to check out other incredible blogs.

 

 

11 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge 2016 I is for Inspiration

  1. Those photos are absolutely breathtaking! What an amazing experience it must have been and I can see why you would use them as settings in your stories. I agree that inspiration is everywhere and I hope it warms up a bit for you. Chilly here, too. Great post! 🙂

  2. Those photos are breathtaking and yes, definitely inspiring! Your weather sounds a lot like ours, but we’re supposed to get milder temps this week. Cheers!

  3. Totally worth the risk. I did a float plane ride in Alaska last year and we dipped down really close on the top of glaciers and in fields to see all kinds of bear and moose. I’ve never done anything like that before. Just incredible.

Leave a Reply

