A to Z Challenge 2016: G is for Goals

GHello again. Welcome to Living the Dream. I hope you’re enjoying this year’s A to Z Challenge. I certainly am. Reading new posts and following others each morning brightens the day.

Today, the letter is G, and I’ve chosen to talk about goals–not those in hockey or soccer, but the ones that define who we are and what we plan to do with our lives.

set-smart-goals-chartBefore I retired, goals were a huge part of my life. As a teacher, I had annual goals, weekly goals, daily goals. Many of them had to be SMART goals: Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Realistic, and Time-bound. Quite frankly, they used to drive me nuts!

When I retired, I had one goal–live long enough to see my grandkids graduate from university and get to play with my great-grandchildren. But then I decided that cleaning the house, doing laundry, and digging in the garden weren’t exciting enough for me. I didn’t mind the quiet, but I was lonely. Substitute teaching didn’t appeal, so I decided on a new goal: find something to do that I would enjoy. Since my husband wasn’t retired, that meant something close to home that I could do on my own. I found it when I decided to step out of my comfort zone and take a chance.

fire-angel-147x221All my life I’d wished I’d taken a different path, but I’ve never been a risk-taker, and I doubted that would start now, but, gritting my teeth, I decided to do what I’d always wanted to do. I sat down tand wrote a book. The charcters in my head kept me company as well as an excellent group of author hopefuls I met on line.

My goal was now to write a novel and one day, get it published. Imagine my surprise when I managed to do just that, and Fire Angel was released in April 2013.

After completing that amazing feat, I needed another goal. How about writing a novel in one month instead of three?  So I joined NaNo bootcamp, and produced In Plain Sight, released in August 2013.  in-plain-sight-147x221Now, three years later, I have written 16 novels, 2 novellas, and 7 short stories of my own, and have cowritten one novel and one novella with another author.

So what are my goals today? Well, I want to be able to keep writing as long as I can. I’ve achieved PAN status with RWA, something I thought I’d never do, and now I’ve got my eye on a long-range goal. I want to be a best-selling author. I’ve been on Amazon’s bestseller list a few times, but I’m hoping to write a book that will have my name out there for a good long time, maybe even get picked for a movie. J.K Rowling did it, why not me? Is this a SMART goal? Not really. It may be  Specific and Measurable, possibly even Achievable in a limited way, but Realistic? Time-bound? I doubt that.

HelloAgain-ebookSo for today, I’ll continue to promote my Kindle Scout campaign, hoping my new book gets chosen for publication by Kindle Press. If you’d like toi help me reach this goal, just pop over to the Kindle Scout page and nominate Hello Again for publication. https://kindlescout.amazon.com/p/18M9BEDK8IVLH

As I await that book’s fate, I’ll coninue to plot away at my latest wip and dream this might be just be the one. Setting goals is admirable, but never let reality get in the way of your dreams.

Don’t forget to visit a few of the other excellent blogs available this month.  A to Z Challenge List .

3 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge 2016: G is for Goals

  1. I am so impressed by your story! Wow, what a prolific author!! You must be so proud. That’s amazing …and wonderful. I like the idea of the SMART goals. I need to incorporate those elements when setting goals.
    Great post. Glad I stopped by!

    Michele at Angels Bark

Leave a Reply

