A to Z Blogging Challenge 2016: D is for Dad.

DHello. I hope you’re enjoying the A to Z challenge as much as I am this year. I’ve read some incredible blogs and love all the comments I’ve gotten on my blog posts. I look forward to meeting even more new bloggers from all over the world as the challenge unfolds.

Today is day 4  and the honor goes to the letter D. I’ve decided to blog about one of the most important people in my life, my dad. As the saying goes, any man can be a father, but it takes a special man to be a dad.

He worked for most of his life in the local paper mill, losing a portion of his index finger on his left hand when he saved another man’s life. He could be loud and definitely lost his temper a time or two, but he gifted me with the imagination I have today. As a child, I sat for hours listening to his fantastic stories. Since I was a picky eater, he would tell me stories about Jungle Jim and Tarzan while we ate, and I would dutifully clean my plate. My only regret is that he never wrote down any of those storiesDad and Georgia, and so they’re lost in the annals of time.

Dad isn’t perfect, but I have no doubt he’d do anything for me, and I’m fortunate enough to still have him around. Eighty-eight this coming Saturday, my dad hasn’t lost his sense of humor nor his commitment to my mother and the family. Here he is with Georgia, my “ham it up” granddaughter.

As the years pass, he has taken adversity in stride. He’s had two hip replacements on the same hip and survived prostate cancer. He can’t fish and hunt like he used to do, but he still drives his own car and visits with hiMom and dads friends at the Legion each afternoon where he might entertain them with a ditty from the past or share memories about lost friends. Since my mother’s mobility is more compromised than his, he helps out more in the house than he used to, and he shows that marriage can be forever if you’re willing to work at it.  Mom and Dad have been married 66 years, and each year, as difficult as it is to find a florist open on the day after Christmas, he gives her a dozen yellow roses, the flowers he bought her on their honeymoon.

I’m very lucky to have both of my parents with me still. Dad is one of my biggest supporters in my new career as author, and is looking forward to my next book. A2Z-BADGE_[2016]

 

Please hop over to the A to Z Challenge List to check out other incredible blogs.

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A to Z Blogging Challenge 2016: D is for Dad.

  1. trishafaye says:

    What a beautiful tribute to your dad!

  2. Debbie D. says:

    Your Dad sounds like a great guy. This is a lovely tribute and you are fortunate to still have him with you.

  3. Shilpa Garg says:

    Your words truly reflect the love and admiration you have for your dad! He sounds like a great man! You are indeed a blessed daughter. Touch wood 🙂

  4. Your dad sounds like an amazing man.
    I wish mine was still around. Unfortunately, I lost him to cancer a few years ago.

  5. patgarcia says:

    You are indeed blessed to have your parents. My Dad was also a wonderful dad and my parents were married over fifty three years.
    Visiting from A to Z.
    Shalom,
    Patricia @ EverythingMustChange

Leave a Reply

