Reviews By Sue: The Case of the Missing Bubble Gum Card by R. Weir

booksGood morning. The clouds have gone, and despite the fact that it’s cold out, the sun is shining. Better than rain, right?

This has been an insane week for me. If you’ve been following my blog, you know I submitted to Kindle Svout this week, and I’m on pins and needles hoping to get enough nominations for a publishing contract. But enough about me. Today, I’d like to talk about a new author I discovered –R. Weir. He’s a motorcycle riding IT professional by day and  and an author by night, living in beautiful Colorado with my wife, daughter and dog.  The book I read was a short story from is Jarvis Mann Detective series which have spent time on several Amazon Bestseller lists. The main character,  Jarvis has an unusual sense of humor, which I believe comes from the author himself.

My review: four stars

Bubble Gum CardWhile I normally review romance novels, I’m willing to try something different. Short stories offer an excellent opportunity to check out new authors and this one was no exception. Jarvis Mann is a private detective who isn’t making a fortune at what he’s doing, but the man has a good heart. When a teenaged boy approaches him about his missing bubble gum card, Mann agrees to help him out, and plans to do so without exacting a hefty price for his assistance.

I liked the character and his off-the-wall sense of humor, and since it was a short story, I felt the matter was well resolved, but I would’ve liked a little bit more at the end. Since I don’t want to spoil it, I won’t say more, but you’ll recognize what I mean when you read it. I certainly applaud the values that were an integral part of the story’s ending and woul’ve liked to have seen that go one scene farther.

That being said, I would recommend the story to anyone who likes a quick read and will definitely put another R. Weir book on my reading list.

You can find R. Weir and Jarvis Mann on

http://www.rweir.net

https://www.facebook.com/randy.weir.524

https://www.facebook.com/JarvisMannPI/

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

