Blogging A to Z 2016 B as in Basketball

BWelcome to Saturday, April 2, day two of the A to Z challenge. The day belongs to the letter B and Basketball.  Now, let me make this clear. I enjoy every sport as long as I can see it live. I’m not one to watch anything televised. I need the smell of the popcorn and the roar of the crowd to get enthused.

But, what I like best is watching is watching my own flesh and blood play. Years ago, I used to watch my children play all kinds of sports–hockey in a freezing  arena on a Saturday morning, curling at a charity bonspiel,  football in the rain, track and field or soiftball in the stifling sun, and of course, basketball, usually seated on those uncomfortable bleachers that make your back ache.  I always appreciated the dedication of those individuals who chose to give up their spare time to teach children how to play the game. Without the coaches and referrees, the game can’t go on.

Now, several years later, I’m still watching my own flesh and blood. That’s right. Now the thrill comes from watching my grandchildren play. In a few weeks, it’ll be softball, but this weekend is the final season tournament for the Cornwall team mascotLions, a basketball team for 10 to 12 years olds.

Every team needs fans and supporters. Nico, my ten-year-old grandson has plenty of both. His grandfather and mother are always there, and, when I’m not babysitting the siblings at home, I attend too. His brothers and sisters occasionally watch. Here Tonio hugs, Georgia, the team mascot while Eleni and I watch.

I am a firm believer in the value of extra-curricular activities for children, especially sports. Yes, it takes time to get them to practices and games, but being part of a team teaches invaluable lifeskills like honesty, integrity, team spirit, and sportsmanship. It’s important for children to know that, in life, you don’t always win, but it’s equaly important for them to know that you need to be a good winer and well as a good loser. In addition, sports provide physical activity and improve both motor and hand-eye coordination.

Is there anything more excitning for a parent or grandparent than watching a child learn the ins and out of a sport? Yes. Seeing them score! Highlight and click on the link.

Nico basketballNo one joins a team for the first time and is an expert. Learning to understand and play a sport doesn’t happen overnight. It takes time and hours of practice to hone the necessary skills and learn the finer points of the game. Basketball isn’t just about scoring. It’s about dribbling, passing, and playing defense. It’s about making those foul shots and occasionally taking a foul for the team. My admiration goes out to all those who support children’s athletics in any way. When the games, tournament and season are over, both parents and child can say, “I tried hard, did my best, and had fun,” because in the end fun is what it’s all about.

 

A2Z-BADGE_[2016]Please hop over to the A to Z Challenge List to check out other incredible blogs.

14 thoughts on “Blogging A to Z 2016 B as in Basketball

  1. You are so true. A team sport teaches so much to the young: respect for the others, respect for themsleves, considering everyone’s opinion, recognising their own and eveybody else’s value and knowing that everyone can bring soemthign to the game.

    My brother used to play basketball when he was a boy. He then was a referee for a few years. Now it’s time for his kids to go on 😉

    @JazzFeathers
    The Old Shelter – Jazz Age Jazz

  2. I adored watching my daughter play basketball, but unfortunately she was forced to stop due to concussions. It was a shame since colleges were looking recruiting her. On to the next phase of her life and she has done it with grace!

  3. I grew up in a totally unathletic household but was very fortunate to marry a man who both played and later coached. Both of my children play sports and some of my favorite memories are watching them play baseball, basketball and tennis. A few years ago, my son’s high school basketball team competed and won our state championship! They were some of the most exciting games ever and we parents and spectators had as much fun as the kids. Wonderful post and so true!

Leave a Reply

