Midweek Tease: Killer Thrillers

MWTease15Good morning and welcome to this week’s edition of Midweek Tease. I love reading the various stories my fellow teasers offer you– especially since the genre they write in is very different from mine.

This week, I thought I’d bring you an Easter present. Recently, my publisher has offered some of my books in bundle deals–That’s right, 5, 8, or 10 full-length novels sold together in e-book format for less than an American dollar. As an author, the financial return is slight, but the promotional opportunities are great.

This morning, I’d like to give you a midweek peek at Killer Thrillers, the newest bundle.

Killer ThrillersLove saves the day in this quintet of thrilling romantic suspense novels you won’t be able to put down. Indulge in the sheltering embraces of a few good men (and women!) with these taut and compelling tales of intrigue:

  • Atonement: A rash of unexplained suicides in the sleepy town of Eider, Iowa, draws McIntire County deputy Nicolette Rivers into a devious killer’s twisted plot. A former marine sniper suffering from PTSD, she hides her own deadly secrets from everyone but detective Con O’Hanlon, who is more than willing to help cover up the fallout. But is he too late to prevent Nic’s dark, downward spiral? Or is Con the one man stronger than her demons?
  • The White Carnation: The last person disgraced reporter Faye Lewis wants back in her life is Detective Rob Halliday, the man she blames for ruining her career and breaking her heart. But when she finds an old friend murdered, he’s assigned the case. Can they set their troubled past aside and work together, or will the Harvester serial killer and his cult followers reap another prize?
  • In the Shadow of Pride: When Lexie Trevena’s matchmaking friends accidentally place her smack in the path of a terrorist who intends to use her as his pawn, the only person who can help her is Special Agent-in-Charge Luke “Mac” McNeil – the man she holds responsible for her husband’s death.
  • Saving Maggie: Reporter Maggie’s psychic gift incites a serial killer to play games with her, and this madman seeks her death to bind them together forever. Only detective Joshua Tyler has the power break this bond in time – that is, if she can make him believe her.
  • Hiding Places: Mona Smith is on the run to avoid getting mixed up in some dirty business with a drug kingpin. Will she find escape or more trouble in unexpected savior Linc Dray’s arms?

Sensuality Level: Sensual

You can get Thriller Killers from Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Killer-Thrillers-Edge—Your-Seat-Romances-ebook/dp/B01BN2BOQW

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/killer-thrillers-winter-austin/1123425863?ean=9781440597411

My offering is The White Carnation, Book 1 in the Harvester series. The romance in the book comes to a satisfacrory conclusion, but for the solution to the crime and finding the Harvester, you need to read all three books.

Here is this week’s tease:

The White CarnationFaye stared at Rob as if he’d grown a second head, and she couldn’t stop the guffaw of laughter from erupting. She laughed so hard, it brought tears to her eyes again and a stitch to her side. Rob stared at her as if she’d gone crazy, and she fought for the composure to speak.

“You’re joking, right? Mary pregnant? Never! Mary wouldn’t go near a man with a ten-foot pole. She’s gay! Believe me, if she switched teams, I’d be among the first to know.” She put her empty mug down on the table. “I know Mary and Lucy have been having problems the last few years. After her dad died, Mary came out of the closet, and Lucy wasn’t prepared to accept that. They argued constantly. As far as I know, Mary kept in touch with her mother but hasn’t been home since Christmas. I’m surprised you didn’t realize Mary’s sexual preference when we met her in New York.”

She stopped speaking. Damn. Why the hell did I bring that up? The look on Rob’s face told her clearly he remembered the last weekend they’d been together.

“It was one of the reasons I was surprised when Lucy called,” she continued, in an attempt to erase the memory. “She wasn’t too happy with me for supporting Mary’s lifestyle. I’m sure Mary isn’t missing, and she sure as hell can’t be pregnant—not unless it’s time for the second coming. She might have gone on holiday or something. I have her personal email address. Let me message her.” Standing, Faye crossed the room to the laptop computer she’d left on the dining room table. “Someone needs to tell her about her mom. She’ll need to make arrangements. I’ll ask her to call me. When she does, I’ll have her contact you right away.” She entered her password, opened her email program, wrote a quick message to Mary, and clicked send.

Rob nodded. “Thanks. Tom’s looking into the police report now. Maybe it is a misunderstanding, but about the pregnancy—you do know there are ways to get pregnant that don’t involve direct contact with a man. Maybe she decided she wanted a child …”

“No way. Believe me. If by some miracle Mary’s pregnant, it isn’t by choice. At one time, I might have wanted a family”—Faye felt the pain of crushed dreams as her stomach threatened to give back the tea she’d consumed—“but Mary was adamant. Having kids was for other people, not her. If she has a biological clock, it’s ticking to a different beat.”

“What if she found a partner, and they wanted to be a family …”

Faye threw up her hands and rose from the chair. “If Mary found a partner, I’d be the first to know about it, and even if she were in a relationship, she wouldn’t be the one having the baby. Her partner would have the child.” Frustration added to the tension between them, and her voice was louder than she’d intended.

“Don’t get mad at me, Faye.” He clenched his fists at his sides and gritted his teeth; he was as upset as she was. “I don’t bat for the same team. I don’t know the rules.”

“Well, neither do I, on both counts, but Mary is my friend. I know her, and I’m telling you she’d never willingly get pregnant.”

She paced, breathing heavily, her heart thumping, fury barely held in check. The anger wasn’t only on Mary’s behalf. Seeing Rob standing here released emotions she’d suppressed for the last fifteen months. She took a deep breath. Their past was dead—just like Lucy Green, like her career at the Examiner, like the roses in the crystal vase on her desk. Dwelling on what might have been served no purpose.

So why do I? I need to put it all behind me and move on. The sooner Rob gets what he needs, the sooner he can find the bastard who did this and leave me alone again.

“You’re right, Rob. I have no reason to bite your head off like that. You’re just trying to do your job, the job I need you to do. What do you need to know?”

The muscle jumped in his jaw, and he dragged his fingers through his hair once more. She clenched her fist, fighting the sudden urge to reach up and smooth it. When he spoke again, he was all business, the consummate police officer at work. Instead of standing still, he paced, something he always did when he needed to think.

“The Greens’ apartment was trashed, and it would have taken some time to do it. Tom says the concierge didn’t see anyone go in or come out. He was busy in the back garden most of the afternoon. It isn’t a secure building—he’s more of a handyman than a security guard. According to Amos, Mrs. Green had been dead a little more than an hour when you found her. The forensic team’s poring over the place, but so far the only thing they can find missing is the tape from her answering machine. They’re looking for a cell phone or a computer …”

“They won’t find any. Lucy didn’t care for modern technology, and she pretty much stopped trying to move ahead after Harvey died five years ago. Mary bought her mom a new laptop last August, but Lucy would have none of it. In the end, I got it.” She pointed to the table. “Lucy didn’t trust all that new-fangled stuff as she called it. That was part of the problem she and Mary had. That’s the last time I saw Mary. She came home for Christmas, but I stayed in Maine with Mom.”

“Okay. The killer must have taken the answering machine tape for a reason. We won’t know what it is until we find it or figure out what’s on it.”

A new wave of nausea suffused her, and she swallowed the bile in her throat. “Among whatever other messages she may have had, unless she erased it earlier, there was one from me saying I’d be there after four today. I was an hour and a half late. Whoever took it may have my name and cell phone number. If I’d been on time, I’d have interrupted him …”

“Full name?” Rob stopped moving.

“Yes, and the fact that I work at the paper.”

“If he thinks you know something, you could be in danger.” There was an edge to his voice. “What time did you leave the message?”

“Around half past eleven this morning. I spent the afternoon in Wellesley rubbing elbows with obnoxious clowns and the upper crust. He has to know she didn’t tell me anything. She was dead when I got upstairs. I never had a chance to talk to her.”

“Must have been a hell of an afternoon. I know how you feel about clowns.” He resumed his pacing, his voice less confrontational than it had been. “The killer won’t know you didn’t talk to her. She could have returned your call and forgotten to erase the message, or you could have called again and spoken with her. Since you didn’t get a good look at the delivery boy, he couldn’t have gotten much of a look at you—and remember, we don’t know for sure that he’s the killer. He’s just a person of interest for now.” He cleared his throat and stopped in front of her. His closeness seemed to suck the oxygen out of the room.

Now, please stop by and visit the other teasers. Leave a comment if you can. They love to hear from you!

You are next… Click here to enter
This list will close in 1 day, 16 hrs, 10 min (3/23/2016 11:59 PM North America – Eastern Standard Time)What is a blog hop?
Get the code here…

5 thoughts on “Midweek Tease: Killer Thrillers

Leave a Reply

