Midweek Tease: Echoes of the Past

MWTease15Good morning, I hope you’re all doing well this mid-March week. Last week’s curling championships were incredible and I enjoyed every minute of my quickie vacation, but this week, it’s back to the grindstone.

Since I’m currently working on a new book which features First Nations charcters, this morning, I decided to pop back in time to one of my earlier releases, which also featured Native Americans as non-Canadians would call them. Originally released in 2014, this book was rereleased in 2015 with a new cover.

Enjoy!

Book Blurb for Echoes of the Past:

Born Mohawk, raised white, forensic pathologist, Michelle Thomas is trapped between two worlds—this one and the spirit world where the ghosts of those who’ve drowned speak to her. Haunted by crippling nightmares of her own drowning death and erotic dreams of a phantom lover, she strives to make sense of her life. When two suspicious deaths occur at the Lake of the Mountain Resort, she’s sent to investigate. She’ll face the greatest challenge of her career when her past and her present collide. One of these men is her future, but which one—the rich and powerful Mayor Ron Davies, or Tony Steele, the hydrology professor who may be responsible for his students’ deaths? Charged by the spirits of her Mohawk ancestors to atone for her previous sins by protecting Lake of the Gods, can Michelle solve the murders, save the sacred waters, and fulfil her destiny?

Original Release Date July 11, 2014; Re-released, September 3, 2015

Purchase Echoes of the Past from: Amazon

EchoesEbookFinalYour tease:

With an unsteady hand, Michelle reached for the phone Tasha held and stared at the image once more. Could he be the dead man? Possibly, but her heart screamed, Please, God, no. “I’m not sure. I don’t think so,” she said aloud.

“I have a suggestion.” Tasha perked up.

Instantly, Michelle shrank from what she knew would be a bad idea.

“I know you like to do everything on your own, but why not get another opinion here? You think both these guys are hot, right? Why don’t we take those pictures with us tonight and go see Audra? She can tell you if one of them is dead, which I hope neither of them are, or if one of them is the killer. You can eliminate one or both as suspects and get to the horizontal mambo in no time. You’ll owe me big time when one of them rings your bells.”

“Don’t be crude. We’ve been through this before. I refuse to go and see some crazy lady and ask her for information about my case—if the woman can see into the future, and that’s a really big IF in my book, I doubt images on a phone will give her any answers. You said I needed to have fun. Believe me, what you suggest doesn’t sound like fun to me.”

Tasha pouted, folded her arms across her chest, and stared mulishly at Michelle.

“I don’t know what’s happening here, but I’ve never seen you like this before. Besides, Audra treats phobias. You promised you’d do whatever it took to overcome this aquaphobia of yours. That meltdown you had when you got splashed in July terrified me. I thought you were having a seizure. You need to know why you’re so scared. How are you going to stay on the beach when we go south? People do splash, you know.”

Tasha took a mouthful of her coffee and made a face. She added more sugar to the cup.

“You’re exaggerating,” Michelle said, trying to hide her fear. “He surprised me and the water was cold.”

“Right. Keep telling yourself that. How can we go on our dream vacation to the Dominican Republic next spring if you can’t go anywhere near the water? I don’t get it. Is it your job? Is that why you’re so afraid? I wouldn’t be a number one fan of water either if I made my living around those who died that way, but you’re beyond afraid. You’re terrified.”

“Calm down, will you? Lower your voice. People are staring at us.”

“Fine,” Tasha whispered. “I’ll lower my voice, but you promised to do something about it, and you haven’t. If Sanders has his way, you’ll probably leave tomorrow. Work is work even if those two gorgeous hunks will be there. You’re my best friend. I miss you when you aren’t around, and an email, phone call, or online chat isn’t the same thing.”

“I know why you’re really annoyed, and it has nothing to do with my fear of water.”

“What do you mean? I’m not annoyed. I’m worried about you.” Tasha raised her brow.

“You’re mad because if I do get sent on this case, I won’t be able to go on that double date tomorrow night with the guy who works with Simon. You’ve been trying to set me up with him for weeks now. Every time I emailed, all you wanted to know was when I’d be home.”

“I asked because I missed you. I do think you and David would be great together. You’re alone too much. For the record, I’m worried about the water thing. Consider learning about the eye candy a bonus—my treat. Audra’s big on chakras and chi and she’ll tell you how to balance things, so you can get over your fear and move on. You can find your calm again. Don’t you want to?”

“More than you’ll ever know.” Michelle sighed, defeated. “Fine. We’ll go see Audra, but after I do this, you have to let it go. No more witches, no more psychics, no more magic crystals, no more anything! I can still go to the Dominican with you. I’ll just sit and bake on the beach while you turn yourself into shark bait.”

Tasha laughed. “You have such a way with words, but I agree. I won’t mention it again—well, at least not until your next meltdown.”

Please take a moment to check out the other wonderful teasers.

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Midweek Tease: Echoes of the Past

  1. angelicadawson says:

    She seems to be in quite the conundrum. I hope she does get some help with it.

  2. siobhanmuir says:

    She does seem to be avoiding something. Good tease, Susanne. 🙂

  3. ravennatate says:

    Very intriguing, Susanne!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

