Tuesday Tales: From a Picture

Badge for TT - very small (1)Hello again, and welcome to this week’s edition of Tuesday Tales. As is the practice, once a month, we limit ourselves to 300 words, based on a picture. This month, the picture was author’s choice from a selection given. Since it’s definitely winter here, I thought a wintery memory would work.

This is the image I chose and I was able to fit it nicely into Hello Again, the wip created especially for this blog hop.

chalet

So, without further ado, this scene takes place shortly after Bill has left and the women have finished kneading the bread for tonight’s supper.

Enjoy!

SueParaCoverDraft5 (1)Shirley placed two cups on the table and sat. “Time for a break. The bread has to rise.”

“Mint tea! That’s my favorite,” Charley said, reaching for the cup. “But I haven’t had it in ages—not since Mike’s death.”

“Why not?”

“Memories. We rented a chalet at Tremblant, a resort  about two hours away from us. It’s a ski resort, but it’s open year round.”

“I’ve always admired the graceful skiers I watch on the television, but when I was young, skiing was a rich, white man’s sport.”

“It’s still an expensive sport, but color and race don’t matter now. I can’t downhill ski to save my soul, but Tremblant has tubing, too.”

“Tubing?”

“Like sledding, but you have a set path and go much faster. We must’ve gone up that T-bar and down the tube run thirty times. By the time we finished for the day, I was wet right through and exhausted.”

“But you were happy,” Shirley said and smiled. “I don’t need the spirits to tell me how much you loved that man, wi’cin.”

“He was my life, Shirley, my whole world, and without him…” Tears crept down her cheeks. “He was the best man I’ve ever known, the most considerate husband. When we got back to the chalet, we stripped off our snowsuits and just put on the fluffy, white robes the resort provided. He made a huge fire in the hearth and went into the kitchenette. I thought he was getting a drink. When he came back, he handed me a mug of mint tea. He’d brought the tea bags from home, knowing it was my favorite. I miss him, Shirley. I’ll miss him until the day I die.”

“But life goes on, little one. Bill’s a good man, too.”

Well, that’s it for me.  Now, please drop by and visit all the Tuesday Tales to see who chose which picture and what they’ve created based on it.

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tuesday Tales: From a Picture

  1. Vicki Locey says:

    What a powerful snippet! I could feel her pain as she spoke about her husband. Well done!

  2. Iris B says:

    It’s hard to let go sometimes … let’s hope Shirley is able to help her move on. And tubing sounds like fun … I *think* there’s something similar they do here in summer on water slides 🙂

  3. jeanjoachim says:

    Great little anecdote to give us a feel for who her husband was. I could feel her pain and her love for him at the same time.

  4. What a sweet scene. I love mint tea too.

Leave a Reply

