Tuesday Tales:From a picture

Badge for TT - very small (1)Hello, welcomr to Decmeber 1, 2015. Only 24 shopping days until Christmas . In keeping with the season, I’ve chosen to share a snippet from my soon to be released Christmas novella,  Come Home For Christmas. My goo9d friend Danielle Doolittle is working on a cover and if it’s anything like the others she’s designed for me, it’ll be gorgeous.So, without further ado, here’s the image and the 300 word snippet.

12274639_10206664609352709_6159273770055101515_n

Krista nodded. “Please, no more. I need time to think, time to process all this.” She sipped the wine, the merlot suddenly as bitter as her tears. “Since I’m assuming none of this was in your father’s will, why say anything? You could have just kept quiet. I’d never have known.”

“But you wouldn’t have come home, and I really wanted you to come home. I needed to make this right.” He raised his glass to his lips, and finished his wine. “I put a box on the shelf in your closet. It’s got the letters in it I sent to you, letters my dad didn’t mail, and some legal documents. Read them, please?” He stood. “I’ll lock up before I go up to bed. Leah’s an early riser, and this is a working ranch, one that’ll be doubly busy because of the snow. I won’t expect to see you in the morning, but if you don’t want Leah around, you can send her over to Aggie, Ian’s wife. She and the twins are living in my old house. The sidewalk will be shoveled.”

“I don’t mind watching Leah,” she said. “None of this is her fault, and enough Christmases have been ruined these past years, we don’t need to add another. Besides, I promised to bake cookies, and I keep my promises.

When I can.

She stood, the need to escape before she broke down completely, moving her to end this discussion quickly. “Thank you for telling me this, for being so honest. I always thought you were a man of integrity despite your father. Since you wanted me home, and I’m here, let’s make the most of this for Leah’s sake if not ours. Maybe there’s enough Christmas magic in the boxes upstairs to get us through the holidays.

Well, that’s it for now. Now, please drop by and visit all the Tuesday Tales

9 thoughts on “Tuesday Tales:From a picture

  1. God you gave me goosebumps in so few words. I have a feeling there’s much more to this story and that it’s going to be a three hanky Christmas. Looking forward to more.

Leave a Reply

