Tuesday Tales. This Week’s Word: Corn

Badge for TT - very small (1)Hello again. Welcome to this week’s edition of Tuesday tales, and the novel I’m writing for it. Hello Again is moving right along. We’ve actually passed the 15K mark, so I figure at this rate, it’ll be done sometime next spring. This week’s offering clocks in at just over 800 words.

I’ve been working on a blurb for it and I’m going to ask my favorite cover artist to design something for me. As soon as I have them, I’ll post them for you. The story is now firmly ensconced in the paranormal.

This week’s offering:

Nakota dream catcher and medicine wheel.

“I noticed the dreamcatcher and drawings earlier. They’re Nakota? I’ve never heard of that tribe.”

“Not many Easterners have, but you’ve heard of the Sioux. Nakota were part of the Sioux family, but we separated years ago. That dreamcatcher is also a medicine wheel to help you heal faster. The spirits tell me you’ve had a lot of pain recently, and not just in your leg. It’s time all of you heals. Now roll over, and I’ll help you sit up, then I’ll get Bill to carry you to the bathroom.”

“I think I can manage with your help,” Charley said, not ready to meet Bill. Both times she’d seen the man, she’d fainted.

“There are two steps, wi’cin. I don’t want you putting any weight on that leg just yet.”

Charley nodded, wondered briefly what the word meant, realizing Shirley had used it before. Not only was the thought of actually walking and climbing even two steps daunting, the possibility of falling and reinjuring herself kept her from arguing. Besides, she’d have to face her savior sooner or later. The least she could do was thank him.

“Now, just sit tight. Bill,” Shirley called out the door. “She’s ready for your help.”

Seconds later, a large man, more broad-shouldered and slightly taller than Mike entered the room. He smiled at her, showing off a dimple on the opposite cheek to where Mike’s had been.

“Nice to see you awake, Mrs. Winters,” he said. “I’m Sergeant Bill Murdock of the RCMP. How do you feel?”

“Better. Thank you for coming to my rescue, Sergeant.” His voice still had the same tone as Mike’s, but there was a slight difference in the way he said certain sounds.

“Call me Bill, please. From what Shirley tells me, and despite everything she’s been right on the money so far, we’ll be here a few days before we can leave. Are you ready? I’ll carry you to the bathroom. Shirley and I jerry-rigged something there to make it easier for you.”

“I’m ready,” and desperately in need she realized. Shirley moved out of the way while Bill stepped forward and gently slid his hand under her knees.

“It’ll be easier if you put your arm around me,” he said teasingly.

“Of course.” She raised her arm and put it around his neck, surprised by the slight tingling she felt at the heat beneath the plaid shirt he wore, and mesmerized by his green eyes which were exactly the same color as Mike’s. In them, she saw honesty and integrity. This man cared about people and wanted to help. “You’ve done this before,” she said, wanting to break the intimacy of the moment as he lifted her up and settled her against his chest.

He smiled again, showing off straight, white teeth. “Our dispatcher’s partner had a stroke last year, and I’ve been over a time or two to help out. Kathy couldn’t do it all alone at first, and I was only too happy to be of service.”

“That’s so nice of you, but I was thinking you’d carried your wife and children,” she said, wanting to squelch the twinge of interest she felt. He might resemble Mike, but it seemed the more she talked to him, the less he did.

He chuckled. “That might be hard to do since I don’t have any.”

“Yet,” Shirley said following them up the steps from the lower level. “But you’ve still got plenty of time.”

Charley felt her face heat and was surprised to see a corresponding flush on Bill. Shirley stepped ahead and opened the bathroom door. A small railing stood beside the toilet, bolted to the floor.

“Here you go,” Bill said, depositing her gently.

Leaning against the railing that allowed her to stand without putting weight on her leg, the heat in Charley’s face intensified. “You didn’t have to go to so much trouble just for me, Shirley,” she said.

“It’s not just for you. Bill was telling me how many people fall in the bathroom and hurt themselves each year. He’s going to build me a railing for the stool I use to get into the tub, and get me something to put inside, too. Now, when you finish, call out, and he’ll come and carry you to the table. I’ve got chicken soup and corn muffins for dinner. It’s past nine, so I know you’ve got to be hungry. I’ll give you something to take away the pain, too.”

As if on cue, Charley’s stomach grumbled. “Yes, ma’am.” It wouldn’t hurt to let someone take care of her just for tonight.

It won’t hurt at all. Mike’s voice echoed in her head.

Great. I’ve got a concussion, too.

She swore she heard Mike laughing.

Well, that’s it for now. Now, please drop by and visit all the Tuesday Tales

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tuesday Tales. This Week’s Word: Corn

  1. jeanjoachim says:

    I love watching the evolution of a possible relationship here. The slow, sweet way they are getting to know each other. And Shirley is a hoot. Looking forward to the next installment.

  2. They are a lovely couple, and Shirley is inimitable. A friend’s daughter is named Nakota, pretty name. The last part is so intriguing– hmmm! Can’t wait for the next installment.

  3. Iris B says:

    Love the story …. and Shirley 🙂

  4. Vicki Locey says:

    What a great snippet!

  5. trishafaye says:

    I’m still in love with this story. Are you getting tired of hearing that every week?
    The characters are so real & I’m enjoying how they interact with each other.

  6. Joselyn says:

    I love the details in this story. > His voice still had the same tone as Mike’s, but there was a slight difference in the way he said certain sounds. > What a unique way to describe someone’s voice. 🙂

Leave a Reply

