Reviews By Sue: The Boogeyman, Lillie J. Roberts

IMG_1662Good morning.Last weekend, we went to Lake Placid, New York. The temperature was a balmy 23 degrees C, 73 F. I was fascinated by the way this crimson tree engulfed the house. The reds, golds, and oranges were magnificent. Today, six days later, it’s another beautiful autumn day. Unfortunately, right now, the temperature is -4 degrees Celsius, 24.5 F. The high for the day will be 0 C or 32 F. Not sunbathing weather that’s for sure, but here at home, the autumn colors are still gorgeous.

So, what do the colors of autumn have to do with my latest book review? They remind me how lucky I am to be alive, to be free to come and go as I please,and  to know my children and grandchildren are safe.

booksFor those of you who know me well, I don’t read horror, or usually anything considered that way. I never made it past the second chapter of The Exorcist, and you won’t find anything by Stephen King, Dean Koontz, or Clive Cussler on my to be read pile. The only slasher movies I’ve ever sat through as Helter Skelter and In Cold Blood. That being said, I’ve read Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein,Bram Stoker’s Dracula, and most of Edgar Allan Poe’s work. I don’t consider them horror. I think of them as psychological thrillers. like the original Psycho movie.

Does that make sense? Probably not, but it’s the way I feel, and when I decided to read The Boogeyman, I most certainly didn’t expect to like it, but I did. It’s not a comfortable book to read because it’s based on every mother’s fear–missing children. But it is one of the best thrillers I’ve read in a long time. I’d put it up there with Robin Cook and James Patterson.

The Boogeyman by Lillie J. Roberts was well-written. The characters developed masterfully, and the descriptions vivid enough to freeze the51alg+RyMcL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_ blood. At one point I actually had to go out to my car and verify something–you’ll know what when you read it.

As you can see, the cover is truly the stuff of nightmares, just as it promises!

About the book:

The nightmare begins…
Two girls lost on a lonely country road.
One killer thrilled with an unexpected opportunity.
Two families desperate to find their lost children.
One girl…lost
One girl remains…
Until a young boy joins her…
And discovers the Boogeyman is real.

Buy it now from Amazon

My Review: 5 stars This thriller never lets you down

The Boogeyman by Lillie J. Roberts is an incredible thriller that preys on every parents’ fear–that the child you created, raised, loved, and nurtured in your heart is never coming home again. Roberts goes one step further in using multiple points of view to bring you deeply into the story. You not only feel the parents’ fear, you live through the agony the children endure and the heartbreak of a brother and a lover searching for them. You wring your hands with the lawman as he tries to find those missing, and of course, you descend into the pool of insanity that is the boogeyman’s mind. On the fringes of all this, you witness the pain of losing a loved one suddenly and watch it destroy a woman.

If you read anything this Halloween, it should be this book. Kudos to Ms. Roberts for crafting such a fine, edge of your seat novel. The plot rivals anything I’ve seen on Criminal Minds. Well Done.

Leave a Reply

