Mid Week Tease Better Late Than Never

MWTease15Hello everyone. It’s late in the day to be posting, but I ran into some technical difficulties I thought I’d post a snippet from All For Love today. Thanks to Sandra Bunino and Siobhan Muir for getting things back on track.

Here’s the blurb. 

To overcome your fear, you must first face it.

Someone is out to destroy Greg Simmons and everyone he has ever loved. After an accident leaves his teenage daughter depressed and distraught, Greg will do anything to make her happy again, including hiring a bodyguard to protect her.

Olivia Marshall lost both her fiancé and her cousin in a deadly avalanche. She has vowed never to set foot on a ski hill again. But now, working as a bodyguard with Anderson Security, Olivia must face her greatest fears to save Greg and his daughter.

Something about Olivia’s determination strikes a chord in Greg, but will she be the salvation he needs, or will he be her destruction?

Here’s the tease:

ALL-FOR-LOVEKINDLE-NOOK (1)The sounds of Mendelssohn’s Wedding March filled the room and the crowd applauded as Olivia and Greg walked down the red carpet to stand in what she hoped would be a short receiving line. She was an emotional mess. She understood everything Greg had said and done was part of the charade. Dear Lord, help me here. I know this is just to protect Sheena, but at the moment, I wish it were real. .

Olivia stood beside Greg, plastic smile firmly in place, as she accepted good wishes and felicitations from the assembled guests. Other than her family, those present consisted of staff from Fantasies and More, Robertson Enterprises, and Marshall Security as well as the girls she’d met at the gym she attended, and Yuri. She shook hands and exchanged air kisses with them, feeling like a fraud the entire time. Her father was acting as if she’d won an Olympic gold, and knowing how he’d feel when he learned the truth ate at her. She couldn’t wait for this to be over. What she’d always imagined would be her dream wedding was quickly becoming a nightmare. After the last guest went through the line, Greg bent down and whispered in her ear.

“Glad that’s over. I’m starving, and I need a drink. Is the food any good here?”

She burst out laughing, the tension slipping off like a cloak. “Thanks for the dose of reality. I’ll bet Jim’s starving too. The food’s excellent although I have no idea what’s on the menu tonight. I’ll warn you if they try to sneak in any mushrooms or snails. From the decor, I’ll assume it will be Middle Eastern or Mediterranean dishes. It should all be fairly recognizable.”

“I hope so.” Greg made a face. “I’m not ready for grilled beetles and chilled monkey brains à la Indiana Jones.”

“Eww!” Olivia made a face and chortled. “I think we’re safe. Knowing Veronica, it’ll probably resemble Greek or Turkish cuisine. It won’t be so bad—meat, rice, fruit, bread—stuff like that.  They’ll be something sweet for dessert too beyond that gorgeous wedding cake. It’s too pretty to cut.” The cake was shaped like a white and gold oriental rug with figures she recognized as Aladdin and Jasmine sitting on it. Well, they were characters from the Arabian Nights after all.

Greg smiled, reached for two flutes of champagne and offered one to her.  He touched his glass to hers. “Tae th’ oncom o’ a grand adventure,” he whispered just loud enough for her to hear. He sipped his wine. “Shall we?”

Olivia moved with him to the head of the long table set aside for the bride and groom. Greg pulled out her chair for her, and she sat. “Thank you.” She sipped nervously from her champagne glass. Greg was playing his part well—too well.

The delicate wine’s bubbles tickled her palate. She’d had champagne before, but it hadn’t been this flavorful. She was about to comment when she noticed the red crystal bowl filled with powdered squares. She gasped with pleasure. “Turkish Delight. The candy’s always been one of my favorites. Veronica’s thought of everything.”

Greg reached for one. “Seriously?” He eyed the white cube, popped it into his mouth, and made a face. “Tastes like perfume. You like this stuff? Really?”

She giggled. “I love it. It’s one of my weaknesses. With my nut allergy, there aren’t a lot of things I can have, and I’m not into sweets. These are perfect.”

“I guess I’d better learn to like it.” He reached for another square and popped it in his mouth, chewed, and made a face. “Nope. Tastes like soap, and I’d know. Growing up, I had my mouth washed with it enough times to recognize its flavor.”

She tried not to laugh at the faces he was making. “It’s an acquired taste. It’s even better dipped in chocolate.” She remembered he’d said he loved chocolate.

“Now, that would definitely improve it.”

The staff began serving the meal and, as she’d expected, the food was delicious. Her father and brother insisted on making toasts, and despite the no speeches rule, her father managed to slip in more than one embarrassing anecdote from her childhood. Jack gave a speech full of anecdotes about Greg, all of them false she assumed, but the crowd loved it.

Greg stood. “I’m supposed to offer a toast to my lovely bride, but between Jim and Ian, I’m a little worried. I knew she could be armed and dangerous. She herself told me she sleeps with a gun under her pillow. I’ll have to make sure it’s not loaded if we argue” The crowd laughed.

She remembered exactly when she’d made that statement and felt heat suffuse her cheeks.

“To Olivia, the fire in your hair can’t compare to the fire in my heart when it comes to you.” He raised his glass and then kissed her.

Olivia puffed out a breath and stood. She’d hoped to avoid all this, and Jack had agreed to the no speeches idea. When had it gotten away from her? Every aspect of this wedding was more real than she wanted.  She raised her glass to Greg, determined to say something that would convey her feelings and be one hundred percent true.

“When we first met, I thought you were insufferable. The last thing I saw myself being was your wife.”

People laughed, and Greg furrowed his brow. She saw concern on Jack’s face and it made her smile broadly.

“I’ve since learned that although you might be a little full of yourself at times, you are a kind, caring, and considerate man. I’m proud to be embarking on this journey with you. To the future, may it be everything we hope it will be.” She raised her glass and took a drink. Greg stood and took her in his arms.

“You’re full of surprises,” he said loud enough for the rest of the guests to hear. “It’s going to be an interesting and enjoyable journey.”

They have lots of excitement in store!  Want to read more? Amazon

Now, please check out the rest of this week’s teasers.

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

