Holidays Are Over For Now!

deerGood morning. It’s been a while since I let you in on what I’ve been up to. I’m sure if you followed my travels across Alaska, you know it’s been a busy summer. I’ve just returned from the second part of my summer vacation–tenting at Higley Flow State Park near Potsdam, NY. We had a wonderful time–unbelievable weather.

This is the view from our campsite. Each evening, that lovely doe walked or trotted by on her way to or from her resting place during the day. We saw several deer, a fawn, a rabbit, and a few squirrels and chipmunks during our two-week stay. The call of the loons in the evening gave the place a haunting beauty, but the caws of the crows–well, those I could’ve done without. While most of the park’s occupants tend to camp in RV’s and fancy trailers, we saw more than the usual number of tents and tent trailers this year. Not all of th20150706_173237_resizedem were as large as ours, of course, but I do need a few basic comforts–like a two-story air mattress, a portable toilet, and the ability to stand inside the tent. The way you see the tent in this picture only lasted one night because with the threat of rain the next day, we tarped it and stayed tarped for the duration.

Our canoe saw a lot of use too. Of course, if I wasn’t such a spaz, I could get in and out of it with a modicum of dignity, but such is not the case. How that man expects me to raise my leg a good four feet and somehow step into the center of the canoe when I’m thigh deep in  water is a mystery we have yet to solve!

The grandkids spent four days with us and we all had a wonderful time. Now, it’s time to clean it all up and put it away until next year!

Leave a Reply

