Mid Week Tease: There’s Always Tomorrow

MWTease15Good morning. As always I want to welcome you all to my blog this morning, brought to you courtesy of Sandra Bunino. It’s always a pleasure to share snippets with you and read your comments, and know I’ve succeeded in entertaining you. As a writer with a frail ego as many of us have, your comments are what make it all worthwhile. As a reader, I enjoy the opportunity to read your offerings as well.

Last week Solstice Publishing released my short story, There’s Always Tomorrow as a stand alone book. It was part of the Food of Love anthology cookbook released back in February.  It’s short, only 5,000 words, and that was my greatest challenge since I’m verbose and tend to write stories that are closer to 90,000 words. Creating one scene in 5,000 words wasn’t hard, but developing a well-rounded character was definitely difficult.

The blurb: An encounter with a drunk driver on an icy road widowed Iris and left the famous Canadian model disfigured and crippled. Now, two years later, after plastic surgery repaired her face and she’s barely able to walk, she agrees to attend the gala for her sister, Rose, newly appointed Justice of the Peace. What she doesn’t expect is for her sister to fix her up with a blind date.

Former CFL football star Finn Bowman’s career ended when he broke his leg. He returned to his home town to open his own construction company, specializing in repairs and renovations. When Rose asked him to accompany Iris to the dinner, he jumped at the chance to be with the girl he’s pursued for fifteen years. Will Iris let him catch her at last?

I posted the beginning of the story back in February.Here’s the link if you’d like to read it first. First post

There's Always TomorrowExcerpt 2 from  There’s Always Tomorrow.

She took a sip from the water glass in front of her and turned back to her sister. “I heard you decided to keep the family tradition after all. What changed your mind?”

“Mom. It seems every Gardner girl has been named after a plant or a flower for more than a hundred years, and my suggestion to end it was met with tears and the guilt trip from hell. Pete sided with her, saying traditions are important, so I gave in gracefully. Rose has her Heather, and we’ll have Holly and Ivy. That doesn’t leave too many decent choices for you.”

“I doubt that’ll be a problem. Unless I’m looking at the next Immaculate Conception, I’m not going to be in the position to be picking out names.”

The thought sobered her. Freezing rain and a drunk driver had stolen everything she’d ever wanted from her two years ago—her face, her husband, and her dreams of a family of her own. Models with damaged faces who could barely walk weren’t well-suited to the life. Her agent had apologized, but there was nothing he could do. At least the insurance company hadn’t balked at paying out the two million dollar policy she’d taken out on her career three years ago, after that Italian model had acid thrown in her face by some stalker.

“Darling, you look wonderful,” her mother gushed as she approached the table. “I love your hair like that. I always said it looked better short.” She bent and kissed her on both cheeks. “I’m so glad you finally decided to get out of that house and join the human race again.”

“Mom, I’ve only been back six weeks. It’s not like I’m alone there all the time. Rose and Lily call or drop by almost every day.”

“I know, you’ve got a housekeeper and a physiotherapist too, but you need to be with people, darling. Now that you’re settled and have left your self-imposed prison, I’m sure you’ll have all kinds of invitations to get out again. People were just waiting for you to be ready.”

“Mom’s right,” Lily added. “Lara’s been begging me to ask you to attend Career Day at the high school.”

“Whatever for?” she asked, surprised that anyone would think she had anything to offer.

“You’re still a celebrity with lots of experience. You’d be an invaluable resource,” her mother stated baldly, and Iris smiled uncomfortably at her, praying she was wrong.

The last thing she wanted was to become the social center of Harper. People meant well, but… Fleur was a persona she’d worn, not who she’d been, and as much as she hated what had happened to her, she didn’t miss her modeling career. She was really an introvert. Hosting all those dinners for Howard’s friends had been difficult, especially at the end when their marriage might as well have been over. If he hadn’t been killed, they’d have divorced. She was quite content to be in the shadows, left alone to her own devices—lonely, hell yes, but that was the price she paid for her anonymity. There was only one man she’d ever really wanted, and he was as far out of her reach now as he’d ever been.

Want to read the rest? There’s Always Tomorrow is available exclusively from Amazon distributors free if you’re part of the Kindle Unlimited program or for 99 cents USD.

Thank you for reading my offering today. Now, please check out the other interesting and sometimes HOT teases from my fellow Mid Week Teasers.

About mhsusannematthews

Finally retired after more than 30 years as a teacher! Now, I get to spend my time gardening, enjoying my grandchildren, and writing. I finally completed the number one item in my bucket list and Crimson Romance published my first novel, Fire Angel, in April 2013. Since then I have sold 24 other manuscripts to date and don't plan to quit writing for a long time yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mid Week Tease: There’s Always Tomorrow

  1. siobhanmuir says:

    Great tease and set up, Susanne. I like her character already. 🙂

  2. dorisoconnor says:

    I’m with Siobhan, this sounds great. Such a great premise for a story, and she is immensly likable 🙂

  3. Ravenna Tate says:

    This sounds really great!!

Leave a Reply

